If I buy an unlocked GSM, will AT&T detect me if I just use wifi?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by Lupita71, Apr 13, 2012.

  1. Lupita71

    Lupita71 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry if this has already been discussed. It will b my first smartphone, and I want to be sure, as they r a lot more money uncooked... Thank you-Colleen. :)
     
  2. Lupita71

    Lupita71 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    *hmmmm. Unlocked. Lol
     
  3. gthotie5

    gthotie5 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    The only way the will charge you for anything is if you use one of their sim cards.

    Sent from my GalaxyNexus using DroidForums
     
  4. Lupita71

    Lupita71 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do have an AT&T sim card (no data plan) that I was going to put into the RAZR....?
     
  5. lloydstrans

    lloydstrans Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,898
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Ratings:
    +1,108
    Wi-Fi is yours, the phone is yours. They can't send you a bill.
    Use my old DROIDX around the house on Wi-Fi all the time, TV guide, stuff like that. It will not access anything that would cause Verizon loss of revenue. SIM card still installed, FYI.

    my razr won't cut an ice cream sandwich on a hot day
     
  6. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    The Droid X does not use a SIM card. Also, you don't have it currently activated on an account (or want to have it activated), so the situation is completely different. The OP wants to use a currently activated SIM card that has no data plan in an unlocked smartphone for voice/text and not data. Very different from what you're doing.

    Once you put the SIM card in, AT&T will be able to tell what kind of phone you're using based off the IMEI number. This is particularly the case with newer phones (some older smartphones don't show up as a smartphone in AT&T's system based on the IMEI, but any newer ones will). AT&T is likely to contact you about having to add a data plan. In some cases, AT&T will automatically add a data plan.
     
    #6 bsweetness, Apr 13, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2012
  7. lloydstrans

    lloydstrans Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,898
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Ratings:
    +1,108
    She has 2 post and in the other one she sounds as if she is trying to cheap out because they raised the plan by 5 buck.

    my razr won't cut an ice cream sandwich on a hot day
     
  8. lloydstrans

    lloydstrans Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,898
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Ratings:
    +1,108
    My bad, for not making post and buck plurals.


    my razr won't cut an ice cream sandwich on a hot day
     
  9. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Either way, AT&T will know that she's trying to use a smartphone with a non-smartphone plan, and they'll either contact her about adding a data plan, or they'll automatically add one for her and start charging for it.

    But yeah, Lupita71, why did you start two threads on the exact same topic? That's against the forum rules and makes it difficult to maintain a constant flow of information from other users who try to help you.
     
  10. Lupita71

    Lupita71 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahhh, that's what I was afraid of. :(
    I had heard about the IMEI number and AT&T being able to possibly detect me.
    And there is probably no way to tell which older phones might be detected and which ones might not, huh?
    Thanks, bsweetness
     
  11. Lupita71

    Lupita71 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did not know it as against the forum rules. Sorry. I didn't think my "title" was very clear on the first one.

    As far as being cheap, I kind of take offense to that. When I upgraded with AT&T I had a choice of about 30 nice phones. Now I've paid them all this money for three years, and I get to choose from about three really crappy phones. It wasnt so much the 5 dollar increase...that was just the straw.

    Colleen
     
  12. jcardona1

    jcardona1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    Ratings:
    +40
    ;)

    [​IMG]
     
Search tags for this page
can at t recognize unlocked phones
,
can at&t detect an unlocked phone
,
can at&t detect unlocked smartphones
,

can at&t recognize unlocked phones

,
can att detect my not usa smartphone
,
can i use an unlocke phone with my att next plan
,
gsm non-smartphone with wifi
,
how can i buy motorola maxx hd sim cad model
,
how did att detect my unlock smartphone
,
will at&t detect my unlocked smartphone