If i buy a garmin gps in america,would it work in South Africa?

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by yongavery, Apr 13, 2012.

  1. yongavery
    Offline

    yongavery New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i want to buy a garmin gps for my dad and send it to him,he is in South Africa and not sure if it would work there!
  2. drew96dawg
    Offline

    drew96dawg New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mobile Al
    I think you'd have to buy a new map from garmin and put it on there, last time I checked they were about $120 dollars

    Sent from my DROID2 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
  3. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You'll have to make sure the model is world based. Some GPS systems will only do certain regions. Like, just USA, or just North America. Like drew said, you would have to buy a map pack for it, but just make sure the model is going to support it.
  4. SANhacker
    Offline

    SANhacker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2012
  5. robert70
    Offline

    robert70 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Only if you buy the map pack for it
  6. carmelosawyer
    Offline

    carmelosawyer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Only if you have the SA map set. Garmin does have a mapset for SA, but you'll have to buy it separately. I have a Garmin iQue 3600 PDA and have the North America and Europe map sets. It came with the North America mapset and I had to buy the European set separately. It works quite well in both places.

    When you buy Garmin products, they are only available with the mapset of the country where it is sold. You'd have to buy it in SA to get SA coverage, or buy a North American version here and buy the SA mapset separately.

    Check the Garmin website carefully to ensure that you buy a GPS unit that you can add the SA mapset to. FYI, the SA mapset is rather old; it's dated Dec 26, 2003 so it may not be very up to date.
Search tags for this page
can a gps from the usa work in sa
,
does garmin gps work in africa
,
does garmin sa work in europe
,

does garmin work in south africa

,

does gps work in south africa

,
does gps work in uganda
,
gps that work in south america
,
gps that works in south africa
,
if i buy garmin in usa can i use in south africa
,

will my garmin gps work in south africa

,

will my garmin work in south africa

,

will my gps work in south africa