idiot proof 800mhz overclock plz?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by rican408, Jan 27, 2010.

  1. rican408
    Offline

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just reading through all the post on this but dont really have time to read 27 pages.... i would really love to do this. The only reason i have rooted my phone. Anyone wanna make this in the same style of the "noob challenge" thread?
     
  2. theascended
    Offline

    theascended Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Being able to do this requires a new kernel to be installed. This can only be done from recovery mode. tasmanian_droid was kind enough to create a nandoid backup with some instructions on his post here: AllDroid - View topic - Droid is stable at 800MHz. Nuff said If that isn't good enough then you have no business trying to overclock your phone. However, the sholes team will likely include the new kernels in upcoming releases and it will certainly be included in the combined kernel meant to work with cyanogen.
     
  3. rican408
    Offline

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats the thread i have read. Its not clear how he wants me to do the recovery. I have run 2.1 and didnt like it. I have busybox and nandroid. I have the milestone browser on 2.01 i think i am qualified. But i dont get exactly how to use his recovery method.
     
  4. theascended
    Offline

    theascended Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The instructions for the recovery are very clear:
    What is unclear?
     
  5. rican408
    Offline

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe im not reading it slowly enough. But to m/e it sounds like im restoring without doing anything to the file i downloaded.... another poster said to place the file in an open backup folder. what am i missing?
     
  6. theascended
    Offline

    theascended Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    When you create a nandroid backup it creates the following folder: /sdcard/nandroid/some-string-identifying-when-the-backup-was-made

    You should create a folder like : /sdcard/nandroid/overclock/
    and copy the nandroid backup from tasmanian-droid there.
     
  7. rican408
    Offline

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you thats the missing link i was looking for. Could not find that anywhere! Trying it now.
     
  8. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow, just wow.
     
  9. rican408
    Offline

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe this is my problem. Does it matter ive been trying to do this from my phone? Downloaded the files thru astro and they come out .php files. Should i rename.zip? Or actually wait till i get home and use the puter? And thank you to the guy who has been patient with me....
     
  10. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    Its a no-go from the phone. You need adb and sprecovery...
     
  11. cpjr
    Offline

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can install the recovery image through an app in the market - DroidRootHelper

    Once that is done, its just a matter of installing the new boot.img that will allow SetCPU to overclock to the desired speed. For this you will need adb, but its 1 simple command inside adb to install the image.
     
  12. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    Whoa whoa whoa, so sprecovery ISN'T necessary? I can just do the nandroid backup from root helper? I was told that couldn't be done...
     
  13. Newton122189
    Offline

    Newton122189 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    no what he's saying is droidroothelper can assist you in installing sprecovery then you can flash the kernel for 800MHz
     
  14. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +19
    Hahahahaha it turns out I'm retarded. Droid root helper does boot into sprecovery. I don't know why I didn't just think to reboot into recovery and look earlier...
     
  15. rican408
    Offline

    rican408 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to those of u that were helpfull.... got it working. Just needed my comp to dl and extract the file. Did not use adb, or root helper.