ICS update soon?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by Racingglock35, Mar 28, 2012.

  1. Androidatic

    Androidatic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +10
    Soak test emails just went out.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2 Beta-4
     
  2. William_04_x

    William_04_x Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Is it really ICS, or just a patch?

    From RAZR MAXX
     
  3. Androidatic

    Androidatic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +10
    No way to tell until it's actually released but all indications are that it is ICS.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2 Beta-4
     
  4. monkey_man

    monkey_man Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    LoL with a patch solution.... Don't get your hope up to high! I do not believe that their patch will guarantee smoother 4G Connection as that is on Verizon end with this technology still in introductory phase. With Iphone maker (Apple) now will make next generation (Iphone 5) with 4g LTE capability, you can expect more data drop and slower speed! (This is the reason they gave me with Capped data and slow 3G connection in need to move to 4G). What's the matter with their primary object of sticking to 3G only Iphone :icon_eek:??? Hell if they moving to 4G then I would love to move back to 3G ;). 3G only phones are cheaper and on top of that they should remove caps for 3G :icon_ devil:. I do have problem with Data Connections, but this is not my main concern. 4G LTE phones are CAPABLE of handling 3G Data, so why in the heck's name that these phones ain't doing this transition smoothly. I never had any problems except rural areas with my previous 3G phones, so why this 4G phone is blanking on me with its data connectivity. Hell not even 1x... I would still accept that in emergency mode.
     
  5. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    For the G Nex and RAZR, updates did help with some 3g/4g issues. Software updates can help for some things, but not everything. I agree we might not see it as stable as 3G until a few years from now.
     
  6. garywojdan81

    garywojdan81 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Looks like the op was right. Devs found a new Droid Razr ICS leak on the cheesecake server & are testing it now. And some others have gotten soak test invites today from Motorola.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2 Beta-4
     
  7. John Gi

    John Gi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    559
    Ratings:
    +1
    • Like Like x 1
  8. nonnasmyladie

    nonnasmyladie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +5
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    Nonnasmyladie
    They are lying devs can't even make a version with working data

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  9. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    Well if it is the official ICS for the RAZR data issues should be better. Data works...just have to jump thru hoops to enable it. I havent ran any ICS ROMs on my RAZR, just going by what I've read.

    Would be interesting if its the official ICS update. Might flash it once the dust settles.
     
  10. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,717
    Likes Received:
    4,731
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,270
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Confirmed.


    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk with voice to text translation. Please excuse minor spelling/grammar/punctuation errors.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. steeveegee

    steeveegee Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    in a van down by the river
    Ratings:
    +2
    here is a dumb question
    i am rooted and have a lot of bloatware frozen using tbu
    what exactly do i have to do to my phone before i get the update?
    will just defrosting all the bloat be sufficient or do i have to unroot?
     
  12. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    Here is what Motorola says is required for you to get a successful download and install of any OTA update or upgrade (ICS). The phone must be completely stock...no root, no frozen apps, no missing apps (apps that you could not delete through the stock manage applications menu) and no backups created with root and you must be on .173 (the latest OTA update). If you are rooted you can download and install/run voodoo root keeper, then unroot and comply with with the other Motorola requirements. No one really knows for sure if that will allow you to keep root or not with this upcoming update...time will tell. I recommend you unfreeze apps, replace anything you deleted/renamed or moved, delete superuser and titanium backup, safestrap or bootstrap and any other associated app for root and unroot.
     
Search tags for this page

data connection dropping on fascinate on cm 10.1