ICS Update for Motorola Droid 4 is Now Pushing Out

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 4' started by newell, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. newell
    Offline

    newell New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Motorola has started pushing the ICS update for Droid 4 users... dancedroid dancedroid dancedroid

    ICS Update for Motorola Droid 4
  2. Philipson
    Offline

    Philipson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    At last.. :biggrin: Hope it will be available for everyone soon..
  3. tcrews
    Offline

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    It's been available for a few weeks now. ICS LEAK .217 is the OTA.
  4. ashobe
    Offline

    ashobe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got mine yesterday morning
  5. cdipier2
    Offline

    cdipier2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still nothing here yet. Hopefully it will come sometime today
  6. Kabilos
    Offline

    Kabilos New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Maplewood, MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try rebooting your phone with the power plugged in.

    Seemed to trigger it for a coworker of mine.
  7. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Ratings:
    +15
    Anyone with the update, will you go to google maps and see if the map orientation can be toggled from north at top to the direction you are facing?

    This is a function that has been lost on RAZR after ICS.

    On GB touching the compass rose at the upper right of the map screen would cause the map to first center on your location then another tap would orient the map to the direction you are facing. That orientation change was lost on RAZR after ICS.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  8. ashobe
    Offline

    ashobe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    map orientation

    Use the two finger rotate on the maps and the compus will appear, is that what you are looking for?

  9. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Ratings:
    +15
    No, that still works. On GB the map would toggle so that what was at the top of the display was the same as the direction you are facing. Another tap would move the display back to north up.
    That is the function that was lost when RAZR was upgraded to ICS.
    The compass rose icon would also change if I'm not mistaken from north facing to whatever direction you turn the phone.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  10. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Ratings:
    +15
    Another question. RAZR is running 6.16.211. There was a leak of .215.
    Now Droid 4 is getting .217.
    What is the full version number for Droid 4's ICS?
    The numbers are so close as is the hardware.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  11. ashobe
    Offline

    ashobe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Droid 4 - System Version 6.16.217.XT894.Verizon.en.US -- Android 4.0.4
  12. moset
    Offline

    moset Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Rural South GA
    Ratings:
    +15
    Interesting. Thanks.
    Not sure what that means in terms of RAZR

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  13. debdroid1a
    Offline

    debdroid1a Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    That's what mine said after the update this morning.
  14. ikari
    Offline

    ikari New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Should I uninstall Safestrap or do some rootkeeper magic before agreeing to the update?
  15. LocoRon
    Offline

    LocoRon Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes.

    Run Safestrap and uninstall the safe system or whatever it is. Then uninstall safestrap.

    Run superuser, and make sure your su binary is up-to-date. (I got screwed because I didn't do this. ):

    Use Voodoo OTA Rootkeeper to create a backup, then temporarily unroot.

    That should be it, as far as I can think of (other than restoring any bloatware you may have removed; according to some, you may be able to keep it "frozen").
Search tags for this page

stratosphere 2 root