ics update fail

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by dale.j.gilbert, Oct 23, 2012.

  1. dale.j.gilbert
    Offline

    dale.j.gilbert New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do you have to be 100% stock for the ics update to work? i got the 905 update just fine (broke root but thats all, and i never re-rooted, made any changes, or froze any bloatware) but the ics update has failed twice now at about a third the way through. will i have to fxz back to 905 before it will work? or....what? lol
  2. eye_dea
    Offline

    eye_dea New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    When you were rooted...what did you do? Did you modify, delete, or flash anything?
  3. sst45jeff
    Offline

    sst45jeff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Does it actually say it has failed or do you just give up on it because it is taking so long.
    It is a major update & takes a while to install. Especially if you have allot of music & photos on your phone.
    Removing the sd card with the photos & music on it speeds up the update process & than you can put it back in after.
  4. dale.j.gilbert
    Offline

    dale.j.gilbert New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it fails on its own. i dont touch it.
    ive done a factory reset (a few times actually, i was getting stuck on it even downloaing) so there are no media files on the phone or sdcard.

    when i was rooted i downloaded adfree (deleted now) safestrap (removed the recovery thing and then deleted) while i had safestrap i did flash a rom to the safe part. all of this was prior to the 905 ota.except i did just recently delete adfree.
  5. eye_dea
    Offline

    eye_dea New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Safestrap uses the preinstall partition to flash the 2nd Custom ROM to your phone. You will need to FXZ to 905 stock or moto-fastboot the preinstall.img. This is why your update is failing. The new safestrap v3 does not use the preinstall partition anymore and will not affect ota's.
  6. dale.j.gilbert
    Offline

    dale.j.gilbert New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that makes sence.

    is there a recent place i can download a zip of all the files i will need to fxz to 905? and is there a way to do it from osx? i have a pc but it is rather slow

    thanks for the help
  7. eye_dea
    Offline

    eye_dea New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    To use Rsdlite and FXZ to 905 you will need a windows pc. I have a mac moto-fastboot file, but I am not an expert on macs. Basically, a windows pc will be easier.
  8. dale.j.gilbert
    Offline

    dale.j.gilbert New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mk. much thanks.

    so i need

    a windows pc
    the 905 fxz
    rsdlite
    and the latest moto-drivers

    is that it?
  9. eye_dea
    Offline

    eye_dea New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    PM me your gmail and I will invite you to chat in google talk. I will take you down a less painful road then having to FXZ back to 905 stock and loose all your stuff.
  10. sst45jeff
    Offline

    sst45jeff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You can get everything you need from the House of Bionic script & use the HOB process or do it manually your self.
    Sounds like you would want to use the HOB script process from the sounds of your abilities.
    If you dont know where it is or cant find it Google it & it will pop up.
  11. dale.j.gilbert
    Offline

    dale.j.gilbert New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im in the process of downloading and installing everything for the fxz. watching videos, reading guides etc. should be fine with doing the fxz i do believe lol

    what should your battery percent be at as a minimum before you do the fxz? ive seen from 50 to 80
  12. sst45jeff
    Offline

    sst45jeff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I wouldn't do it without at least 70%
  13. dale.j.gilbert
    Offline

    dale.j.gilbert New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Which i exactly what i did it with! lol fxz worked and was easier than i thought.

    thanks for help all
Search tags for this page
droid bionic failed update
,
droid bionic fails to update to ics
,

droid bionic ics update failed

,
failed during ics upgrading
,
ics update fails on droid4