ICS Tips and Tricks for the Razr

Discussion in 'Droid Razr and Razr Maxx ICS discussion' started by YellowJacket, Jun 23, 2012.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,011
    Likes Received:
    1,001
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,020
    OK, the deal is that your display is using 65% of the battery life that's been used.

    So say your battery is at 80% and your display has used 65% of that... so your display has used just north of 10%.

    But your display SHOULD be your biggest power user. Its your interface and your display. So its how you interact with the device :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  2. Abaddon
    Offline

    Abaddon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure if this was asked or discussed but does anybody know where the screenshot is saved? I don't use the stock gallery (I use Quickpic) and I want to add the directory so that it shows up when I open the app.
  3. realged13
    Offline

    realged13 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +19
    Does anyone know how to remove pictures from being displayed beside text messages. I don't like the blank picture icon there. Or is there a section that I can change how it looks? Thanks!
  4. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +196
    Not 100% sure, but I think you would have to remove the pic from the contact in the "Contacts" (Edit Contact) ... I think if you have a pic for the contact it will also show in text messages too. And I have no idea if you can change the stock blank picture icon or not.
  5. realged13
    Offline

    realged13 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NC
    Ratings:
    +19
    Yeah, I went there and removed it the picture, but it still shows the blank person icon beside the messages. I just think it looks annoying.
  6. MattyP
    Offline

    MattyP Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,267
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    In a race car...
    Ratings:
    +196
    I agree, I don't really care for it either, but I don't know if it can be changed or not ... or I would LOL
  7. William_04_x
    Offline

    William_04_x Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I use Quickpic also, and a new folder named screenshots was autocreated. They show in Quickpic and the stock gallery. The folder is found in Internal Phone Storage(sdcard, not sdcard-ext)>Pictures> Screenshots.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Droid Forums
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2012
  8. Abaddon
    Offline

    Abaddon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help!
  9. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9,643
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,391
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, Baby!!
    :rofl2: Missed it by that much! :rofl2:
  10. Tracey4
    Offline

    Tracey4 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If there is anyone using the car dock in ICS: I noticed it annoyingly opens vz navigator. If you disable vz navigator that solves that problem. Maybe someone can help me with the rest? There is no music player anymore, so no big buttons to use to skip and pause while driving. Also, if you aren't on the main screen, the screen will time out! So I'm listening to music and the screen shuts off! What are they thinking? The only thing i could think to do was use smart Actions to change the screen timeout, but the longest is 10 minutes, so now i assume the main screen will timeout after 10 minutes if I'm say, listening to the radio in my car and not touching the screen to skip through songs. Not only that, but pressing the home button doesn't take me to the car dock home, it takes me to the regular home screen. How is this supposedto be driver friendly?
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2012
  11. foos3rj4m
    Offline

    foos3rj4m New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Dixie.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Homescreen, long press the home icon and it will show a list, swipe away apps not using or wanting to kill.
  12. Papa_T
    Offline

    Papa_T Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not really the same as task manager. Swiping doesn't actually kill the app. And it doesn't have a way to auto kill after two minutes.
  13. rdgxray
    Offline

    rdgxray Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Press menu on home screen... select manage apps...at top tab to running apps...kill or stop one if not responding here...haven't seen anyway to auto kill apps...maybe they took this away because now you can disable any app...so why auto kill any app...just disable it completely

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  14. fauxreall
    Offline

    fauxreall Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    can i change the wallpaper on the lock screen?
  15. steph1488
    Offline

    steph1488 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not a resolution for your problem, but a suggestion. I've always disliked (hated!) the stock app for car dock. Have you tried Car Home? Killer UI. Can create 18 shortcuts and works like a charm. If you have no luck in getting it all to work out for you, might be an option. Good Luck!
Search tags for this page

droid razr maxx tips and tricks

,

droid razr maxx tricks

,
droid razr maxx tricks and tips
,

droid razr tips

,

droid razr tips and tricks

,

droid razr tricks

,

razr maxx tips and tricks

,

razr maxx tricks

,
razr tips and tricks
,
tips and tricks for droid razr