ICS Root Tool

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by orangechoochoo, Aug 13, 2012.

  1. Kabilos

    Kabilos New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Maplewood, MN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does this new root have the ability to remove the root checker that Moto has sneaked into the boot loader?

    Right now my phone when checking the boot loader says 1/1

    Not sure if this has been addressed or if were just saying screw it and dealing with it.

    /regards :)
     
  2. jetguat

    jetguat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the ICS tool you refer the one in your signature? is that something you install have you root a phone?
    I want to root my phone to allow titanium backup to run, after which I plan to do a factory reset to get a clean slate.
    I want to restore some apps, then I'm thinking I want to unroot so I can receive future OTA updates. I read post about flashing the stock
    ROM back on, but that defeats my purpose of wanting to backup/restore and also receive future OTA updates. I dont have plans to use
    any custom ROMs.
     
  3. jsnweitzel

    jsnweitzel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1
    You can use the tool to root. I would not uninstall any system apps, just freeze. Then you can get any ota's without any problems. There are roms out there that are based on stock with the bloat stuff removed, if you want the stock experience with some of the junk out.

    Sent from my XT894 using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. jetguat

    jetguat Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Duh! I just realized that this was within the Droid 4 forum. Does this tool work on the Droid Bionic? or am I out of luck.
     
  5. SupperDroid

    SupperDroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    OK, so if I do this will I be able to get JB when and if it comes out on OTA? Sorry if it has been asked but I don't want to screw up and not get JB.
     
  6. lemmony

    lemmony Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Michigan pole
    Ratings:
    +0
    you are having 1 of 2 issues.

    1st you are in mass storage mode and need to switch.
    2nd nd (as was the issue i had) you are using a charging cable to connect to your computer that is not allowing for data transfer. Use a diffrent cable to connect and try it if you have already confirmed you are not in mass storage. :)



     
  7. slobeachgirl

    slobeachgirl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have droidbionic that was rooted gingerbread. i put it back to factory and did OTA to ICS. Now i am trying to root again. I have tried everyone's suggestions. I have latest drivers, my phone is in USB charge only. MTP is checked. I keep getting "adb is not recognized as internal or external command. I have checked and adb> moto adb composite is listed in the hardware drivers. I am using the original usb cable that the phone came with. What else should I do? Please tell me in english not tech.Thanks
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2012
  8. Rocky

    Rocky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gosh! After hours of trying to restore and re-root my D4, this thread became the cherry on the pie (since I couldn't root with another one-click method).

    Thanks once more, Orangechoochoo! :icon_ banana:
     
  9. firefightin5-0

    firefightin5-0 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks alot for this root app. I spent an easy five hours yesterday searching, downloading and trying to run various roots for the Droid 4 running 4.0.4. I my specific system version is 6.16.217.XT894.Verizon.en.US. I must have tried installing it from four sources not including this one, at least twice each with different variables. I would like to note most other root apps are telling you to have it in USB debugging, which I did in all cases, however they were saying camera mode (PTP) while yours says media mode (MTP). I could not get any of the camera mode oriented roots to work, but this one worked right the first time if you follow the instructions and be sure to have it in media mode (MTP). This solution is not very easy to get to for some reason, but apparently it is here. I got the Droid 4 much later than the original release date, so it came with Android 4.0.4 which must not have been the way it was for most phones purchased from Verizon. However, as of today being January 13, 2013 it worked just fine. Thanks.

     
  10. kanuck

    kanuck New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Ratings:
    +0
    Works!

    Very glad to have found this thread after a morning of failed roots. Just got my new-to-me Droid 4 running 6.16.217.xt894.verizon.en.us .

    As stated in the previous comment, others specify camera mode and crashed in reboots... yours worked on the first try in MTP.

    THANK YOU! dancedroid
     
  11. Anomalyzero

    Anomalyzero New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    For anyone having trouble with the root, (can't find device, hanging at reboot, Hanging in general, etc.) you have to have the motohelper software installed. I regarded it as more Moto bloatware and didn't have it.
     
  12. snowman

    snowman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tn.
    Ratings:
    +7
    not the software but yes on the latest drivers it offers
     
  13. Mr_Wolf

    Mr_Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi!
    I used the tool to root my Droid 4, but very often the applications won't start, there's only a blank screen.
    I have to reboot the phone even several times to start them.
    Anyone is having the same issue?
     
  14. snowman

    snowman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tn.
    Ratings:
    +7
    no mine is working as always good, never blank screens
     
  15. bwild97

    bwild97 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Achieved ROOT on my Droid 4 using this tool!! worked flawlessly, Thank you all!!
     
Search tags for this page
apk root ics
,
ics root
,
ics root apk
,
ics root app
,

ics root tool

,
ics rooting tool
,
root apk ics
,
root ics apk
,

rootthat-ics

,
rootthat-ics download