ICS Root Tool

Discussion in 'Droid 4 Hacks' started by orangechoochoo, Aug 13, 2012.

  1. cheez

    cheez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having the same problem that Kabilos had. In my case it's because I can't get ADB interface to show up in device manager when the Droid is plugged in. I did install the latest drivers from the link provided, and I get Motorola USB Networking and Motorola USB Composite Device to show, but no ADB.
    Debugging is on (even toggled it a few times to check) and I've tried it in both camera and MTP. Annoyingly, if I put the phone in bootloader, then Motorola Single ADB Interface pops up in Device manager just fine. Tried uninstalling and reinstalling, but no joy.
    Does anyone have any idea how I can get ADB to stick? I'm tearing my hair out w/o root, and I leave on a lengthy business trip this weekend besides. :-(
    PC is Win 7 x64. Huge thanks in advance for any help you can give me :biggrin:
     
  2. jsnweitzel

    jsnweitzel Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try downloading motocast. When I did it installed additional drivers. Also adb has nothing to do with fastboot.

    Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 2
     
  3. cheez

    cheez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. rafterman414

    rafterman414 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just ran this and everything seems to be working fine. This is my first foray into the rooted phone world so I have some research ahead of me, but superuser seems to be working just fine.
     
  5. Coalase

    Coalase New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks, worked perfectly for me
     
  6. azhummer

    azhummer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry to be a pest but say i have to bring back a refurb droid 4 back to verizon, is there a .bat/1-click unroot out there yet? :D


    edit: well i dont plan on installing a custom rom (just want to be able to freeze bloatware).. so maybe i just do a hard reset yes?
     
  7. BrinNutz

    BrinNutz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i wonder the same thing, i have one coming tomorrow as well. i disabled superuser but it is still there ./
     
  8. DHC8DRV

    DHC8DRV New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried to root my phone this morning and it is not working. The tool says the following lines:

    [*] Waiting for device...
    [*] Device found.
    [*] Rebooting device...
    [*] Waiting for device to reboot...
    [*] Rebooting device again...
    [*] Waiting for device to reboot...
    [*] Attemping persistence...
    remount succeeded

    Thats where it stops and nothing has changed on the phone. I have Superuser and BusyBox installed (manually from the store) and Titanium Backup (the program I am wanting to use) but it still says that root access is still not availble. Any ideas on what im doing wrong or how to fix this.
     
  9. orangechoochoo

    orangechoochoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,109
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    On a caboose
    Ratings:
    +12
    Jsnweitzel's Droid4 Utility I think has an unroot option, otherwise use RSDLite to flash stock ICS and then root will be gone.
     
  10. jsnweitzel

    jsnweitzel Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +1
    Actually the ICS tool doesn't have a unroot option. I just tested the unroot that was used on GB and it worked! I will be updating the ICS tool in the next day or two to include this.
     
  11. TexasSilhouette

    TexasSilhouette New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Worked, thanks.
     
  12. italian

    italian New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do i root my droid 4 to have cellular service with no Carrier??? is it possible???
     
Search tags for this page
ice cream sandwich root apk
,
ics root
,
ics root apk
,
ics rooting apk
,
ics rooting tool
,

ics root tool

,
root apk ics
,
root ics apk
,

rootthat-ics

,
rootthat-ics download