ICS redraw and lag issue gone with a simple reboot?

Oliver84

Reaction score
Ok, so I've been seeing major redraw issues in ICS and I know not the only one. If you haven't seen it yet, sooner or later, you will. The longer your phone lasts without rebooting, the worse it gets too. My phone was super laggy and would redraw the home screen just about every time I hit home. The lock screen was laggy and so was the keyboard. I tried everything from uninstalling apps to trying several memory management apps but nothing worked. Then I tried a simple reboot and just like that my phone was back to being silky smooth like it was on the first day...

So what's going on and why hasn't Google figured out a solution to this yet? Honestly, I have no idea. All I know is that rebooting the phone has worked not only on my phone but on others as well. Sounds like a cache issue to me but I'm not a programmer so I wouldn't know the first thing about this. What do you guys think?

JSM9872

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Galaxy S22+
To me it is not a big deal, a reboot is simple and takes less then a minute. If it is a cache issues, which I believe it is, the reboot takes care of it because it clears out the cache.

And since people were trying to help you in your other thread it may be a good idea to post in there and let them know that their suggestions helped.

OP
Oliver84

Oliver84

Reaction score
Yes, I've posted my results in other threads as well. If it's truly a cache issue, I wonder if just clearing the cache automatically every night would keep things running smooth? I can't really test mines out now because it's still "fresh" but if anyone would like to try that out and post your results, that would be pretty sweet.

dezymond

Tech Support Mod
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Google Pixel
What was your up time?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums

JSM9872

Super Moderator
Staff member