1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

ICS lag

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by brunla, Oct 24, 2012.

  1. brunla
    Offline

    brunla New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have had ICS installed now for 30+ hours and the lag is ridiculous. Opening apps takes forever! I feel like I am on my Droid 1 again! And yes I Factory reset and wiped cache...twice. But hey at least I have 4G again. So now I can sit around and wait for 20 seconds after pushing a button for it to do something. I'm beginning to understand why people have iPhones.
  2. bluezdawg
    Offline

    bluezdawg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boulder, Colorado
    Just curious, how waas you Bonic configured? Ever ROM'd or rooted? I applied the ota to a totally stock Bionic. I have been running for about 22 hours now, have noticed no screen transition or app lag at all. Only thing I have noticed is that my battery life is slightly worse. Will likely play with some Smart Actions to see if I can impact that, otherwise I can live with it. Running so well, that I have delayed buyng a Samsung G3 and will wait for the G4
  3. raptor2001
    Offline

    raptor2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My bionic is very responsive after ics. My battery life is the same or a bit better. I've had ics since yesterday morning and I'm very pleased.
  4. Vepaot
    Offline

    Vepaot Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    KCMO
    Because they like smaller screens, inferior hardware, and being locked down by Apple's restrictive interface?

    But in all seriousness, you shouldn't be having issues with it. You installed it via the OTA?
  5. Stingray71
    Offline

    Stingray71 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Noticing the same thing when opening facebook slacker, and kindle. Used HOB 247 ICS. Did fresh install as well.
  6. raptor2001
    Offline

    raptor2001 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You may also want to install something like 'OS monitor' to see if you have a process that is taking most of the CPU
  7. brunla
    Offline

    brunla New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Never rom'd or rooted. Just bizarre how some people have major issues with this phone and others do not. Same phone, same hardware.

  8. jcw122
    Offline

    jcw122 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also experience pretty bad lag. Not all the time but when it happens it's very bad.
  9. Dolly
    Offline

    Dolly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm also having trouble opening aps. Facebook and especially the Droid Forum! Seems to hang up our take forever. Haven't tried many others. But I am getting a great 4G signal, which
  10. bassman1547
    Offline

    bassman1547 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lancaster, Ca
    I have lag and redraws too.. I'm trying different things. The Droid community, no doubt in my mind, will figure it out eventually, if I am yet unsuccessful. Take a look at the developer tools in the menu section..might be something to tweak there.
  11. brunla
    Offline

    brunla New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Found a fix! Please go to settings>developers options>transition animation scale and turn it off or .5. Same thing with windows scale.
    The phone is now working properly and speedy. HUGE difference!
  12. bionicDman
    Offline

    bionicDman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You really need to install 246 via HoB if you're still on 247.
  13. WildhogFLHRC
    Offline

    WildhogFLHRC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome!!! I've just made the suggest change to "off" and it has made a significant difference!!! I was about ready to throw the phone against the wall the other day!

    Great find and great job!
  14. mandragora
    Offline

    mandragora New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Horsham, PA
    I also turned off the animation and it does appear to be snappier.
  15. Crazebeats
    Offline

    Crazebeats New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It may be one of you old apps that was installed and even when you fdr you reinstalled it. You should have no lag been on this build for over a month with no issues

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  16. brunla
    Offline

    brunla New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I turned off transition animation scale, AND window animation scale. I was still noticing some lag. I then changed 'background process limit' to NO background processes and my phone is finally acting quick and speedy! Not sure what background process thing does exactly, but I could not handle 20-30 second delays opening apps.
  17. mandragora
    Offline

    mandragora New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Horsham, PA
    I just set 2 background processes and it seems to be much better.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  18. h8losing
    Offline

    h8losing New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the tips. Phone seems faster.
  19. triniwasp
    Offline

    triniwasp New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for the tips guys, that really helped. I can't help but wondering if it should be necessary though. I know ICS is more resource intensive, but the Bionic specs are till pretty good, no?
  20. dihtn
    Offline

    dihtn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine was running horribly slow after the ICS update. I finally did a factory reset last night. Huge difference. It is not lagging at all any more.
Search tags for this page
bionic lag
,

droid bionic lag

,
droid bionic lag fix
,
droid bionic lagfix
,

droid bionic lagging

,
droid bionic laggy
,
droid bionic lags
,
droid bionic update makes my phone lag
,
how to fix ics lag
,
ics lag fix
,
ics lagg
,
motorola droid bionic lag
,
take lag out of droid bionic
,
why does the droid bionic lag
,
why is my droid bionic lagging