ICS Check for Updates Question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by FunN4Lo, Oct 22, 2012.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. FunN4Lo
    Offline

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    When I check for updates I get "Check for update is not available at this time. Try again later" is that the message I should get until I get the OTA update, or is something broke?
  2. tjk629
    Offline

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,037
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    If you really want the OTA you can download it and put it on your external SD card and then apply it in recovery.
  3. FunN4Lo
    Offline

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Got it, but that is not the question I asked
  4. Vepaot
    Offline

    Vepaot Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    KCMO
    Ratings:
    +45
    Yes that is the message you will get until the update is available to you. No clue on when that happens, rollouts for updates are not based on your location. I've heard that it has to do with your phone's IMEI number, but I couldn't tell you if that is really the case or not. For all I personally know, it's totally random and you could see it any given time between now and next week.
  5. Nezdude87
    Offline

    Nezdude87 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I missed my shot Friday, apparently. I'm registered on moto's feedback network and received an email saying I'd get the update Friday morning for the soak test. I'm on the extended network with no wifi at home, currently, so I drove 15 minutes into Verizon service (I was desperate, don't hate), only to download it and fail the install due to Safestrap. Came home, made my brain grow with google, used my fiancee's home network the following day and fxz'd back to stock .905, tried to update, and of COURSE I would get "your device is up to date" haha. I even went back into Verizon's service and got the same thing. Now I'm on an ICS leaked build watching the forums closely for when it really rolls out. I really wish I would've known then what I do now, I'd be enjoying the ota right now.
  6. toastface
    Offline

    toastface New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got an email from moto saying the soak was successful and they will begin rolling the ota out tonight......
  7. Nezdude87
    Offline

    Nezdude87 Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got it too, you beat me to the punch. Guess I'm going back to .905 tomorrow. Leak .232 is really good, I've had no problems so far, but of course I want the official update.
  8. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    Not really, what you should get is the message "Your phone is up to date! No update is necessary at this time." The message you're getting is that the phone is unable to check for updates. Maybe the server is overwhelmed and that's why it wants you to check later.

    That happened to me a while ago. I powered down, removed the battery and sim card, put the battery in and powered up all the way. Then I powered down, removed the battery, replaced the sim card & battery and powered up again. I got the "up to date" message immediately. Be sure to put the sim card back in correctly or you can fry it. I did and had a new card put in (no charge).
  9. FunN4Lo
    Offline

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Tried the battery and sim pull you describe above. I still get the "Check for Update not available at this time. Try again later".

    Can anyone that has gotten the OTA tell me what their System Update message said before you got the OTA. I had major issues with previous updates, I think the "not available" the message is the message I had before, not the "Up to date" message
  10. mattjenn
    Offline

    mattjenn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ota has been released for everyone if you are stock with no mods try to go to all apps- Google framework- forcestop- then clear data see if that helps sometimes you have to do it 2-3 times
  11. FunN4Lo
    Offline

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Tried 3 times, same message
  12. DxL
    Offline

    DxL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Remember Forum Users,

    This is a friendly forum site/ app. Make sure we stay calm, friendly, and have fun.

    Just a Friendly Reminder. And have a wonderful day.

    Thanks,
    DxL
  13. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    Mine said, "Your phone is up to date! No update is necessary at this time." Of course when I did the check last Friday it said there was an update available and did I want to download it.

    You may want to do a manual install, but you may still get the "Unavailable" message for the next update.
  14. mattjenn
    Offline

    mattjenn Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Are you rooted or have been when on 905
  15. FunN4Lo
    Offline

    FunN4Lo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    Completely stock, never been anything else, never rooted, on 5.9.905

    but... I bought my Bionic a couple of months after it came out. Never had any of the connection issues that plagued Bionic owners in the beginning. I also never got any updates. Bionics have been through 3-4? overhauls/OTA's trying to correct issues and update to GB. I never got any of them. My Bionic worked, so I didn't care.

    Then one day several months back at the time GB was rolling out, my 4g quit. Lots of VZW techs couldn't figure it out. Someone here on DF said change your sim card. I got VZW to swap it out. 4g came back. Then within the course of about 3 hours I went through 12+ months of 3-4 updates to GB where I am now. So I have never gotten any update the regular way since Bionic hit the stores when mine was new

    So I am concerned I won't get an update. I run my whole business on the phone, so I do not want to try DLing any update. I want the VZW OTA.
Search tags for this page
bionic check for update is not available at this time
,

check for update is not available at this time bionic

,
check for update is not available at this time droid bionic
,
check for update not available at this time bionic
,
check for updates is not available at this time droid bionic
,

droid bionic check for update is not available at this time

,

droid bionic check for updates not available

,
droid bionic update not available
,
droid bionic wont update check for update is not available
,
droid x2 check for updates is not available