1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Icon notifications

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by austin21, Jan 17, 2012.

  1. austin21
    Offline

    austin21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    I had an Incredible on Verizon and I recently upgraded to the Droid RAZR.

    On my Incredible, the icons on my screen had little notification numbers. For example, if I had 3 new voicemails, the voicemail icon on the home screen would have a small 3 in the corner. If I had 15 new emails, my GMail icon would have a small 15. Kind of like iPhone icon notifications.

    It doesn't appear the Droid RAZR has this feature, I suspect this is due to OS? My Incredible had 2.1 or maybe 2.2 and the Droid RAZR is on Gingerbread.

    Is there a way to enable my icons to have their numbers back? This was really convenient for me. Thanks for reading!
  2. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,512
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Welcome to the forum!!

    I know that a home replacement launcher can do this for you - have you check out either ADW.ex or Go Launcher EX?
  3. austin21
    Offline

    austin21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for the warm welcome! :)

    I don't have the phone rooted, would i need to to be able to do this? I was hoping there was a native setting I was just overlooking... why would they take away such a nice feature...
  4. gling
    Offline

    gling New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Not sure about the stock launcher but I'm using Launcher Pro and it has that option in the preferences under dock settings.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  5. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,512
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    No, replacement launchers do not require root - they are downloaded thru the Market. That is usually why replacement launchers are used, they expand on the features that should be stock...:)
  6. austin21
    Offline

    austin21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Smalltown!! Excellent, I'll try to download a few launchers and see what works. Gling, thank you for the suggestion, I may just go with that launcher. Is it fairly stable?
  7. gling
    Offline

    gling New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    QUOTE=austin21;1976468]Thanks Smalltown!! Excellent, I'll try to download a few launchers and see what works. Gling, thank you for the suggestion, I may just go with that launcher. Is it fairly stable?[/QUOTE]

    Very stable, quick with no lag. Maybe not as customizable as some of the others but with scrolling docks, 3D app drawer, folders, ability to hide apps you don't want to see, and more, I think you'll find it has plenty to offer.
    Good luck whatever you choose.


    View attachment 46050 [ View attachment 46039
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2012
  8. sadlsor
    Offline

    sadlsor New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Non-rooted Razr

    Austin, FWIW, my Notification bar doesn't show how many messages, voicemail, etc., until I scroll it down. When it's docked it only displays that I have "one or more" items.

    I just learned on this forum that I'm going to have to reload all my apps; I had Launcher Pro on my Droid X but I guess it's still out there in Marketplace-land...

    Hey! Welcome to the Razr forum!
  9. austin21
    Offline

    austin21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks everyone! I installed GO Launcher EX w/notifications plugin and it's meeting my needs. It gives me a notification count for messages, gmail, and missed calls. It doesn't work for my exchange email or voicemails, but c'est la vie. :)
  10. pinoy_92
    Offline

    pinoy_92 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just so you know. go launcher takes a lot of resource to run.
Search tags for this page

display a notifications count next to a icon html

,

droid maxx notification symbols

,

droid razr show number of voicemail

,

droid voicemail notification

,

go ex notification voicemail

,

go launcher email exchange

,

go launcher email notification

,

go launcher ex notification remove symbol in notification ba

,

i only want to see new emails in my notification email icon

,

megaphone notification icon on driod razr

,

notification symbols on gs4

,

verizon droid razr hd notifications icon has h