I want my phone to look and run like this!

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by tdog7879, Jan 31, 2010.

  1. tdog7879
    Offline

    tdog7879 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I found this on youtube ,,so it's not video but i wish are next update would be just like this!!! I no that this was a hack for the sholes and its also overclocked but i think that this should just be the next update...


  2. BavarianBuilt
    Offline

    BavarianBuilt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Yeah that thing is running real smooth. All this overclocking talk lately has made me want to root and overclock my droid.
  3. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thats how mine runs!!!
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I have nothing but patience. Saw someone posting about how great his phone was after overclock but then he edited his post with a disclaimer mentioning two restarts. My phone hasn't restarted even once since I owned it without me doing the restart and I've had it since late November.

    If the next update improves the performance of the Droid even just a little bit more I'll be more then happy. It's pretty hard to make an ex Blackberry Storm owner complain about the Droid.:)
  5. schertz7
    Offline

    schertz7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    its a night a day difference, I have nine OC'd to 800 like his. I'm not willing to push it to 1.1g like others though.
  6. knotbeerdan
    Offline

    knotbeerdan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    This is the way i have mine set up too. Im runnig a bugless beauty rom with a theme installed with metamorph. It too is overclocked to 800MHz. It seems real stable no restarts but i did notice that after I perform a nandroid backup my icons will disappear twice. But a few resets and everything is good to go
  7. BavarianBuilt
    Offline

    BavarianBuilt New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    I found this statement particularly funny because I can relate, I'm coming from the Moto Q. In the end, I too am patiently waiting for updates.
  8. tdog7879
    Offline

    tdog7879 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I far from *****ing as i was a former BB storm owner ...im just saying having this a are next update and having flash on it.....I would never need a new phone again!!
  9. ZX-10R
    Offline

    ZX-10R New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    do i need sholes to run the cube affect when he opened the app drawer?
  10. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I've been running the Bugless Beast 7.1 and since this morning 7.2 rom. I have been running it at 1 GHZ and it is rock solid steady. I've absolutely zero issues. It is blazingly fast and with Setcpu controlling when it is at 1 GHZ, the battery consumption is practically at the same level as when it was stock. I just came back from a 30 minute walk and I used a GPS program to track the walk and listened to a book on tape. After all that the chip temp was only at 93F (outside temp is 53).

    I've very, very pleased that I did this hack. I am no longer waiting for 2.1. In fact I have OverTheAir updates disabled so I will not receive it when it comes out. The is now the best phone I've ever seen or heard about. I may be like Tdog, I may never need another phone - I know that's not really true, but it's fun to say. In two years I have the Droid 3 or 4 and it'll be running at 4GHZ. :icon_ banana:
  11. Quie2Droid
    Offline

    Quie2Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Hey Bayou,

    On your Set CPU program, do you have it set to on demand? I am running BB 8.4 with the 800 overclock program.
  12. knotbeerdan
    Offline

    knotbeerdan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Herer are my settings. Im also runing the bugless beauty 800MHz

    [​IMG]
  13. Quie2Droid
    Offline

    Quie2Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    okay, thanks. I have been running BB since 8.1, but this is my first overclock attempt. I don't want to give up too much battery life. Are you using the profiles at all?
  14. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Yes and I have the profiles activated. My settings are:

    Charging 500max 125 min
    sleep 250 max 125 min
    power <30% 550max 250 min

    Otherwise it's 1 Ghz ondemand all the time I'm using it.
  15. knotbeerdan
    Offline

    knotbeerdan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Yeah im using profiles.. Here ya go
    [​IMG]
    I am running 800MHz while charging too
  16. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    My phone, at 1ghz on the Sholes vs 1.2 ROM, really isn't much faster (meaning 800mhz isn't very different from 1ghz regarding speed).

    By the way, if you guys want your SetCPU speeds to be set when the phone boots each time, make sure you check "set on boot".
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2010
  17. Quie2Droid
    Offline

    Quie2Droid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Okay, thanks knotbeerdan and bayou. I will try those out.
  18. tdog7879
    Offline

    tdog7879 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So what would happen if it was 95 outside?? I work outside??? Would the phone just melt?:icon_eek:
  19. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I didn't really think the outside temp made a real difference. I just put it there so folks wouldn't think I was in 8 degree weather and reporting a total BS phone temp number. the Droid manual says to keep your phone below 113. I read somewhere (I read it on the internet so it must be true!!) that the chip is stable up to 140. I don't worry too much about the temp and it's effect on the phone because I'm sure I'll have a new phone in 2 years or so. Doubt I will shorten this one's life that much in that short of a time. YMMV :)
  20. gentlefury
    Offline

    gentlefury New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
Search tags for this page

iwant my phone to say droid