i want my old number back for texts...not this gvoice number.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by MajorWhiteBoy, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. MajorWhiteBoy
    Offline

    MajorWhiteBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i tried removing my number in google voice, i deleted the app on the phone. i don't want voice showing up as my number. i want it to be my real number. how do i accomplish this?
     
  2. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    try dialing *72
     
  3. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    i meant *73
     
  4. MajorWhiteBoy
    Offline

    MajorWhiteBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I called it, heard a beep. What does it do. I thought the call got dropped so I did it twice...
     
  5. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    once you remove the number from voice (or even change the options) and do that it should be back to normal
     
  6. MajorWhiteBoy
    Offline

    MajorWhiteBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't gotten it to change yet.
     
  7. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you set up GV for voice and texting? And if so, what is the problem you are having?

    Is your GV number showing up for texts and phone calls at this point?
     
  8. MajorWhiteBoy
    Offline

    MajorWhiteBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I set it up for texts as an option to do free texts. I didn't set it for phone calls, so I'm good there I think. I can't figure out how to get my texts back to normal, no voice involved.
     
  9. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I always saw it that you had to send message from inside GV for it actually send messages....

    What exactly did you do to get it to send messages from your phone via your GV number? Are are you using any kind of app that is handling the texting?
     
  10. MajorWhiteBoy
    Offline

    MajorWhiteBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using textplus. I don't remember how I set it up. I REALLY want to unset it though.
     
  11. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think it matters, but what number do you have listed in textplus? Your GV number or reg number?

    Are you replying to text messages or creating new ones?
    Did you disable SMS forwarding to the phone under the settings on the website?
     
  12. MajorWhiteBoy
    Offline

    MajorWhiteBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My real number, both, and yes
     
  13. MajorWhiteBoy
    Offline

    MajorWhiteBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK....I deleted all my old messages. Seems to have worked. Thanks though, folks. Always a helping hand around here.
     
  14. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm digging around in all my settings trying to figure this out, lol.

    Did you set GV as your default messaging app when you started using GV?

    Go into your contacts and long press a contact and click "Text Message", does a prompt come up? And if so does it give you the option to select a default action? If so, pick the message handler you want for your text messages.

    If not, go into Menu -> Settings -> Applications -> Manage Applications -> Menu/Settings -> Filter -- All

    Scroll down and see if Google Voice is in your list(still? maybe?) Open it and see if the application is set for the default handler.

    This might not be a solution at all, but it's worth checking.
     
  15. nerdbox08
    Offline

    nerdbox08 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay cool. :)

    I'm glad you were able to get it fixed!
     
Search tags for this page
how do i get my old number back on textfree
,
how do you get your old textplus number back
,
how to et old number back on textplis
,
how to get my old number back on text plus
,

how to get my old text plus number back

,
how to get same number back on txtfree
,
how to get your old textplus number back
,

how to get your textfree number back

,
i want my old text plus number back
,

port textfree number