I want a TB but...

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by saber5, Jun 15, 2011.

  1. saber5

    saber5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I considering purchasing a new htc thunderbolt this week. after doing some searches, im worried about the reboot problems some are having. my question is this; if i purchase a new phone, can i keep it from automatically loading the seemingly faulty ota update untill htc/verizon gets the issue fixed. thus hopefully keeping my phone from constantly rebooting, or could i have all the same issues that most others are having from a new unupdated device. this will be my first android phone and i will not be much of a power user. mostly text youtube, games.....no email stocks radio etc.. I like the htc sense ui not a big fan of moto….input please thanks
     
  2. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    Maybe also consider an Incredible2 if 4G isn't much of an issue.
     
  3. saber5

    saber5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Inc2 seems tiny after using TB. but it does use sense ui hmmmm....i may have to research the inc2 alittle bit. thanks
     
  4. Kid A

    Kid A Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    US
    Ratings:
    +0
    As far as I know, the phone would automatically keep asking you to download the update until you accept. You could buy one and flash the MR2 update that just released. Most people who have done that aren't experiencing reboots.
     
  5. saber5

    saber5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    maybe ill wait untill this newer update comes out and see if it works. been waiting a long time to make the jump to smartphone tech. almost pulled the trigger on the inc2 at the begining of may then the vzw girl shows me this thunderbolt and now well you know...
     
  6. pappabacon

    pappabacon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got mine last week and haven't had a reboot yet.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
     
  7. gumshoe351

    gumshoe351 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got my Tbolt this past Saturday and as soon as I starting using it I began getting the message to update firmware and I deferred it for a day or so because I didn't want the reboot issue. I got tired of seeing the message so I have since installed the firmware but I have not had any reboot yet and its been at least four days since it installed. FWIW I live on the fringe of a 4G area and I get 4G service but I use the LTE on/off app and generally keep 4G turned off for battery purposes but either way I have not had any reboot. My point to the OP, pull the trigger...you will not be disappointed. The Tbolt is bada$$

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  8. saber5

    saber5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    think im going today for the TB. early fathers day gift. i think my reservations at first were that it was more than just a software issue. but the more i search i think its just the software. that being said im finding that there are problems with most phones out there anyway esp. new ones. wife says get the one you want soooo its the TB. dont understand how everyone has better prices than VZW. one bought from anywhere should be good as the next right--new is new. think i may just go the the VZW store, they can help set up...thanks for the help
     
  9. saber5

    saber5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    this may be a naive question. if i get a tb today. and it tries to update-i continue to decline as this would be the bad/old MR1. when the new update comes out ie. MR2 etc, and my phone asks me to update and i do then, does this mean i just get the new/good one or does it give me all the updates out there?
     
  10. rich_r

    rich_r Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got my Thunderbolt 14 days ago. I have not been "offered" the MR1 update (and I plan on refusing it if I am). I haven't had a single reboot. Of course, I do have all of the problems that the MR1 update was supposed to fix (poor GPS lock and shaky 3g/4g issues).

    The gps issue hasn't been a real problem (I use the GPS status trick and "most of the time" that allows GPS to work).

    I also use the LTE on/off app from the market and manually manage 3g and 4g. I stay on 3g most of the day (i.e. when the phone is in my pocket) and switch to 4g when I want to use the faster 4g speeds. It's a pain in the a$$ to need to manually control the handoff, but if I stay on 4g my battery barely makes 5 hours.
     
  11. ionide

    ionide Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You sure you don't already have the mr1 update on it?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  12. FrellingFrakker

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a stock TB that I've had since March with the first OTA and I don't have any reboot issues.
     
Search tags for this page

accidentally rejected verizon s3 update