1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

I tried to power cycle the phone, now it won't power on at all.

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Tech Support' started by DJTURNz, Oct 18, 2011.

  1. DJTURNz
    Offline

    DJTURNz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My DX2 was acting up this morning. Wouldn't play audio. The app froze up. So I powered it down. Now it won't power up. I used it this morning to answer emails with no issue. It has not been dropped or exposed to water in the past 48 hours (never actually).


    I can't get it to power on or do anything.
  2. nlinecomputers
    Offline

    nlinecomputers New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Sounds like it has crashed. It's really on but the screen is locked up. Have you pulled the battery?
  3. DJTURNz
    Offline

    DJTURNz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes I pulled the battery. I even let it sit with the battery our for about 30minutes. No change.
  4. nlinecomputers
    Offline

    nlinecomputers New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    So it does nothing? No Moto logo? No splash screen? It should power on when you plug up power to it.
  5. Larry_ThaGr81
    Offline

    Larry_ThaGr81 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia
    Agreed, try plugging it up.

    Sent by my Bolt powered by Thunder
  6. DJTURNz
    Offline

    DJTURNz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope nothing. The only time I can get any activity is that I can sometimes get the green LED to flicker if I plug it in with the battery removed. But even that doesn't seem to be consistant.
  7. nlinecomputers
    Offline

    nlinecomputers New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    If it will not power up using the power cord then you have a brick.
  8. DJTURNz
    Offline

    DJTURNz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If I plug it into the computer, with no battery, the LED comes on. But it goes out when the battery is in.
  9. DJTURNz
    Offline

    DJTURNz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When plaugged into the wall, no LED with or without the battery. Also the cpmputer does not recognize it as anyrthing being pluggged in.
  10. nlinecomputers
    Offline

    nlinecomputers New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Ok so it's a brick with an LED. Sorry dude there is no fixing this. You need to get a replacement phone.
  11. DJTURNz
    Offline

    DJTURNz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Damn. I don't hack my phones, I don't root, I don't screw with bootloaders or recovery files or any of that stuff. And my phone still gets bricked. Well I might as well hack the hell out of now.


    OCCUPY BOOTLOADER!

    Seriously, now I guess I have to swap my number to my aunt's old BB until my new phone gets here.
  12. nlinecomputers
    Offline

    nlinecomputers New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Just thought of this. Have you removed the sd card? Try to power up the phone with out the card in it.
  13. DJTURNz
    Offline

    DJTURNz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just tried it. No change.
  14. DJTURNz
    Offline

    DJTURNz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My new (refurb) X2 will be at my door tomorrow. Now I just got the update last week, what are the chances my new phone will be current?
  15. srvctec
    Offline

    srvctec Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central Kansas
    I'm wondering if the battery was toast. Seems to be the only constant. Too bad you didn't have a spare battery to try.

    Sent from my DROID X2
  16. nlinecomputers
    Offline

    nlinecomputers New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    They will ship him a referb without a battery so if the battery is the problem it will do the same thing on the new phone.
  17. srvctec
    Offline

    srvctec Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central Kansas
    Good point. Forgot refurbs came without batteries.

    Sent from my DROID X2
  18. DJTURNz
    Offline

    DJTURNz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well my replacement arrived. But I couldn't get it activated. While the *228 call was going through, I kept hearing a beep. And the activation kept hanging up.


    I finally got through to customer service and they got me to a technician. He told me how to bypass the activation and get into the phone to do a hard reset. It turns out, the assisted dialing was enabled and it kept "pushing" the 1 like every 5 seconds.


    Then it worked. Then the tech called me 5 minutes later to make sure it worked. He then told me he'd take another call and then call me again to see if I was having any more issues.


    So far, so good. I hate the fact that I have to set it all up again and figure out all the apps I used to use. I had some widgets that I don't recall what they were called. I also found that some of my apps are on the market, but when I try to install, it says denied because app was removed from the market.
  19. Nyobie
    Offline

    Nyobie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Bummer when you have to start all over. I guess on the positive side of things, you might find other apps you wouldn't have otherwise! Hey, you might want to write down a list of the stuff you loaded in case this happens again. I think I might do the same.
  20. srvctec
    Offline

    srvctec Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central Kansas
    Or just download one of the many apps from the market that will list your apps for you so you don't have to write them down. I use one called App List. I also use a great app that backs up all the .apk files (apps) on your phone called OnTheFly Backup. Both of these are free.

    Sent from my stock DROID X2
Search tags for this page
droid charge dropped & won't turn on
,
droid razr m wont complete the power up cycle
,
droid razr x2 won't turn on
,
droid x2 froze and now wont turn on or charge
,
droid x2 green led on when computer won't turn on
,

droid x2 power cycling

,
droid x2 wont turn on or charge
,

power cycle phone

,
samsung won't power up ativ phone
,
won't power on