I think RSDLite hates me... :'(

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by JRDroid, May 15, 2010.

  1. JRDroid
    Offline

    JRDroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I need some help. I downloaded the motorola drivers for 64 bit (im running windows 7 64), downloaded the latest version of RSDLite, and downloaded the droidmod sbf with SPRecovery on it. Boot into bootloader, run RSDLite, my phone and RSD both show as being connected via USB, Phone says battery OK and OK to program. BUT when i select the sbf file in rsd, the start button stays greyed out and I cannot click it. I have no idea what is going wrong since i followed everything exactly like it said to. Any ideas?
  2. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Is rsd recognizing your phone?

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  3. JRDroid
    Offline

    JRDroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes it is. It lists something under the model and says connected via usb
  4. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    could you post a screenshot of RSDlite with the sbf file loaded?
  5. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Might need to redownload the sbf

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  6. JRDroid
    Offline

    JRDroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I will in a little. I am using a different computer right now, just had knee surgery and don't feel like moving from the couch again quite yet.
  7. JRDroid
    Offline

    JRDroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I have tried two different ones. The 2.0.1 sbf and the droidmods SPRecovery sbf
  8. JRDroid
    Offline

    JRDroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here is the screen shot when the phone is attached, RSDLite is running, and i've opened the sbf
  9. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Try going to config and changing the device id option. If I remember mine showed something different than yours.
  10. JRDroid
    Offline

    JRDroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have tried both options in it. One option nothing shows up (the top option) and this is what shows up with the second option.
  11. JRDroid
    Offline

    JRDroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any ideas or am I on my own
  12. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your screenshot basically shows that the SPRecovery.sbf file is possibly corrupted...
    See my screenshot below... try downloading this link and see if that file shows in RSDLite...SPRecovery_ESE81.sbf
    And BTW... are you running RSDLite as Administrator?
  13. JRDroid
    Offline

    JRDroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you. I will try that as soon as I am home tonight. I believe I am running it as an admin, there is only one profile on the comp (who is obviously the administrator) so unless there is some sort of special action I need to take to run it as admin that I don't know about, I am running it on the administrators profile.
  14. ScoobyDoo27
    Offline

    ScoobyDoo27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My computer used to do that with RSD Lite. What I had to do to fix it was put the SPRecovery file in the root of C: and then I had to run RSD as the admin and then it allowed me to start the flashing process.
  15. JRDroid
    Offline

    JRDroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, that got the start button working (i put it in the root of the C: AND used the file provided above). Now it says "Failed Flashing Process. Unable to retrieve initialization values from INI file. (0x7029); phone connected". what now?

    PS: I see on google a lot of people get this error using older versions of RSDLite, but i am running 4.6

    Included latest screen cap for your viewing pleasure.
    Last edited: May 17, 2010
  16. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    From everything I'm reading, RSD Lite 4.6 does not play very well on a 64 bit OS. And in reality it plays best on Win XP 32 bit. Not the answer you wanted, and there may still be hope for you to keep trying, but if you have access to a WinXP 32 bit machine, I think you will get a more harmonious outcome.

    good luck
  17. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My screenshot was from my Win7 64bit system...with the correct driver RSDLite does work fine on 64bit.
    I really see no reason why it isn't working for him... since now you are getting an INI file error, uninstall/delete everything, do a search & purge of any leftover traces of RSDLite, then reinstall RSDlite 4.6....try that....also when you go to launch RSDLite, right click and run as admin, if given the option.
  18. JRDroid
    Offline

    JRDroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No access to an xp 32 bit machine, i do have a vista 32 bit machine, but all its usb ports are broken. Guess its time to get that computer fixed.

    I will try the other thing above as well
  19. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    The last two times I saw an error similar to that, it was b/c the person was using a USB port on their computer that was not USB 2.0. Try switching to another USB port and see what happens. You would think all new machines would only have USB 2.0, but evidently not.

    Also, to run RSD as admin, you have to hold down shift and right click, then select "run as administrator". I believe that's the case whether you're the only profile on Win7 or not.
  20. ScoobyDoo27
    Offline

    ScoobyDoo27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, that might be my problem. I've plugged an Xbox controller in to charge it from my computer and it said something about it not being 2.0... which I thought was insane since this computer isn't that old. But anyways, is there anyway of checking if the USB ports are 2.0 or not?