i think i messed up my phone please help

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by TrustNYC, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. TrustNYC

    TrustNYC New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i was running froyo2.2 rooted tried loading a cyanogen rom and phone froze i dont have a backup and i already wiped data and cache. phone only powers on if pluged in ac. but i can get into clockwork recovery what can i do? its been 2 days without my droid please help ​

     
  2. xkape

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    Well, I don't know how you rooted the phone but what I did on my wifes phone when the battery died while I was rooting her phone was to flash back to 2.01 SBF. Then, rooted, I upgraded to UD 7.0 wich runs 2.2 FRG22. I did hpwever, pull my battery and put it in her phone cause I am impatient and didn't want to wait for her phone to charge.

    Since you can get into ClockWorldMod recovery, do a "select update from sd card" goto your clockworldmod folder and search though there till you find a ROM, any ROM. Try to load it. If the phone boots up, change it to what you want. Just getting up and running is the important part right now.
     
  3. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    :welcome: to the forum!

    Okay, what xkape said was good. If you can get into recovery you can be saved. Is there an option there to mount mass storage or something similar? If there is, download the stock 2.2 ROM you were running again, put it on the SD card via the mount or pull the SD card and plug it into a reader so you can put it on there, and then use clockwork to install the ROM.

    You know it works, so use it. Once you have your phone working again you can try again, but getting your phone working is #1 priority at the moment.

    And next time, MAKE THE FRIGGING BACKUP FIRST! :)

    Good luck and if there are further problems we'll do our best to help. If something REALLY borked we'll pull out our big guns.
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2010
  4. shakesbrice22

    shakesbrice22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you don't want to load the ROM that you have downloaded in the clockwork folder you can always take the SD card out and put it in your computer to transfer files to it directly from your computer (just buy a little drive thingy). I download most of my roms on the computer then put them on the SD card where I install them from clockwork. Works great!
     
  5. TrustNYC

    TrustNYC New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do i download froyo rom on my sd using my pc and will i have to root my phone again?
     
  6. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    You can mount the sdcard to the computer while in clockwork. You can then move a copied rom to the sdcard, unmount and install.
     
  7. TrustNYC

    TrustNYC New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    found a rom in clockwork and now phone is working but its running on 2.1 and not froyo, and on cyanogen 5.0.8 and with no market whats a better rom and how do i get market back
     
  8. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Download any from the forum (Chevy's, CVPCS (a bit of a pain because you have to do it twice as Gapps aren't in the rom), Bugless Beast 0.4, Koush, etc. etc.). They are all good. Put any of these on the phone and then use clockwork to install (select zip from sdcard). The market will be in these roms.
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,162
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    And if the Google apps aren't in the ROM you pick I'll give you a link to download. Standard update.zip install.
     
  10. sampson2269

    sampson2269 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bugless Beast

    I have my phone rooted to bugless beast v 0.4 and the ota update came up i just went ahead and clicked restart and install, Nothing happened to my rom, It stayed intact and everything work correctly.
     
Search tags for this page

did i mess up phone while rooting

,

i have messed up my droid phone

,
i messed mmy phone up rooting
,
i messed my phone up while root
,
messed up phone while rooting
,
would my ls970 mess up if i root it if its already rooted