I think I may have really done it now

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Jim 777, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I downloaded the BB v.02 and spent a butt load of time with Titanium BU reinstalling all my apps and when I finally get to a point where I better create a back up, all hell broke loose. Apps disappeared, widgets weren't showing up and worst of all, I can't boot up into recovery. It sits at the M logo forever, tries a couple of times and eventually boots up, but in to the brand new v.2... no recovery to let me restore 1.1.

    Holding the X down does nothing.

    any ideas?
  2. tu3218
    Offline

    tu3218 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    When it boots up, go into rom manager an try to get into recovery that way.
  3. ichoozjc
    Offline

    ichoozjc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Reinstall clockwork a time or two.
  4. Caustic3881
    Offline

    Caustic3881 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What I had to do was flash alternate recovery of SPR and then flash back to ClockWork. All the updates have cause minor glitches.

    Good luck!
  5. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    no difference

    from ROM Manager?

    I have (somewhere) the original SPR file but can't remember how I install it. And can I use it to restore a clockwork BU?
  6. Caustic3881
    Offline

    Caustic3881 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is Rom Manager installed right now?
  7. breakingjessica
    Offline

    breakingjessica New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Can you go into ROM manager and flash SPRecovery? If so, do that, and then right after flash Clockwork again and reboot and see if you can get in then.
  8. Caustic3881
    Offline

    Caustic3881 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is exactly what I was getting at. This should fix your issue.
  9. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Where is that in the ROM manager? Am I blind in my mild panic state?
  10. Dunn23
    Offline

    Dunn23 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    down at the bottom. flash alternate recovery
  11. bendystrawboy
    Offline

    bendystrawboy New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my apps widgets were screwy, just moved them to phone and restarted launcher pro...
  12. Caustic3881
    Offline

    Caustic3881 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Open Rom Manager and second from the bottom it will say "Flash Alternate Recovery SPRecovery 0.99.3b
  13. Jim 777
    Offline

    Jim 777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,270
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    LOL
    So I gotta scroll down? Is that what you're telling me? :D

    Oh man, I got Launcherpro back up, started getting all the shortcuts in place, widgets on screen, and before installing a new kernel, tried to back up. When it finally came back up, LauncherPro was gone (but the market said it was installed), my widget list was as if I just wiped and installed the ROM, and the apps list was the same.

    I flashed clcokwork one more time and it did get in to recovery. So I'm back on 1.1 and thinking I'll wait for more bugs to be worked out before I try that again.

    If nothing else, all the time to individually go through 172 installations with Titanium BU just to have it all go down the toilet, will keep me in check for a while.

    Thanks for the input.
  14. Caustic3881
    Offline

    Caustic3881 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You do realize that after you flash a new Froyo rom whether you wipe data and cache or not your programs with Froyo will reinstall automatically. Make a good backup and know that it works and then flash BB which is great, so is JRummy and Chevy's Simply Stunning and when you flash choose wipe data and cache and ya it's a little more work but its the best way to avoid bugs. For about the first half an hour after you flash a Froyo Rom the phone will be super slow because it is reinstalling all your apps. And with Kernels I am using Chevy's ultra low voltage 1.2GHZ and it's so awesome.
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2010