I THINK I just rooted....

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Hacks' started by krichmond0306, Nov 5, 2010.

  1. krichmond0306
    Offline

    krichmond0306 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ...but when I tried to install Titanium Backup it first asked for permission (which I assume means I successfully rooted) then said it couldn't run. Is there a way to make sure I rooted? I want to backup my system before I start doing what I want like remove 'bloatware'.

    Also any suggestions on what I should do now that I'm rooted? Best programs, etc?

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
  2. Cloppy
    Offline

    Cloppy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you have a terminal emulator app you can type in su and see what it says. if its permission denied then you didnt root. if it comes to a # sign then your rooted. Terminal emulator apps are free on the market
  3. krichmond0306
    Offline

    krichmond0306 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I did that it came up with a file path and the next line only had a $, rooted?

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
  4. enlightened
    Offline

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    Hit the Problems button in Titanium Backup; it needs to download an updated version of BusyBox in order to work.
  5. krichmond0306
    Offline

    krichmond0306 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup got that so I am rooted. Now what should I do? My big goal is to improve battery life

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
  6. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Clear your Dalvik, do a power cycle, use Set CPU to underclock when the screen's off and when your battery starts to drop.
  7. krichmond0306
    Offline

    krichmond0306 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Best app to underclock? How do I do a power cycle? What is it?

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    SetCPU in the market and you let your phone run down till it powers itself off, plug it into a wall charger and let it sit for an hour to two hours so the charge not only finishes but stabilizes, and then use normally.

    I'm unaware of any other over/underclocking apps in the market besides the ones for the X/2 and Milestone, so I might be mistaken, but SetCPU is the de-facto overclocking app (and it lets you underclock for things like screen-off, overheating, and low-battery levels so you can save juice and rock Andy a little longer. :)).
  9. Marco Montana
    Offline

    Marco Montana New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nashua NH
    I used the Rom managers back up utility, and it works flawlessly from the boot recovery screen.

    Droid Incredible ADR6300