I think I have discovered a bug in the ICS leak

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by JeffDenver, May 15, 2012.

  1. JeffDenver

    JeffDenver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    The leak worked great for the first few days, but now the OS keeps "forgetting" the launcher, and prompts me to select a launcher after I exit every other app.

    It is mildly annoying. I dont see any way to "force" it to remember. When I exit an app, I will get the prompt to select a launcher even if I checked "use by default for this action" the last time. It is not remembering it after a while. I am using Apex Launcher.

    Any ideas? I can't think of what this could be except an OS problem.

    (Also...it does this even if I am using the Sense launcher)
     
  2. hoboX10

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I found one too. My phone refused to connect to anything that required data, but it showed me having 4G coverage. The bars would even jump between 3 and 4 bars, but nothing would load. I had to switch Airplane mode on and off to get it to work.
     
  3. LoudRam

    LoudRam Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Ratings:
    +146
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto X
    For me Go Launcher has worked great. Haven't had any issues. The only bug I thought I found was actually just a setting change for auto wifi when launching an app. Never knew that setting was in there.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound using Droid Forums
     
  4. Taco

    Taco Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had that same problem on stock unrooted gb ... A reboot solved the forgetfulness. It came out of the blue the 2nd day I had the phone.

    Sent From A Taco Bell Drive-Thru.
     
  5. JeffDenver

    JeffDenver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I ended up having to do a factory reset. That seems to have fixed it.

    Some things I learned:

    1) No, a factory reset will not restore the OS to a previous state. I am still on the ICS leak.

    2) Rebooting did not fix the issue.

    3) Clearing data did not fix the issue.

    So whatever it was, it was an OS thing, not a settings thing.
     
  6. Myco

    Myco New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    No launcher problems here. Only issue I have now is going from bad to worse battery life on stock battery. Just 20 minutes of web browsing and temp hit 128.
     
  7. hoboX10

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I'm guessing I'm the only one so far that found the bug I mentioned?
     
  8. crxlsturbo

    crxlsturbo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    I used to have the 3.14 leak and even on my extended battery I would get worse battery life. So I unlocked my bootloader and rooted my phone and installed cleanrom ics. Way better battery and more smoother.