I think I have discovered a bug in the ICS leak

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound' started by JeffDenver, May 15, 2012.

  1. JeffDenver
    Offline

    JeffDenver New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The leak worked great for the first few days, but now the OS keeps "forgetting" the launcher, and prompts me to select a launcher after I exit every other app.

    It is mildly annoying. I dont see any way to "force" it to remember. When I exit an app, I will get the prompt to select a launcher even if I checked "use by default for this action" the last time. It is not remembering it after a while. I am using Apex Launcher.

    Any ideas? I can't think of what this could be except an OS problem.

    (Also...it does this even if I am using the Sense launcher)
  2. hoboX10
    Offline

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    I think I found one too. My phone refused to connect to anything that required data, but it showed me having 4G coverage. The bars would even jump between 3 and 4 bars, but nothing would load. I had to switch Airplane mode on and off to get it to work.
  3. LoudRam
    Offline

    LoudRam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    For me Go Launcher has worked great. Haven't had any issues. The only bug I thought I found was actually just a setting change for auto wifi when launching an app. Never knew that setting was in there.

    Sent from my HTC Rezound using Droid Forums
  4. Taco
    Offline

    Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    I had that same problem on stock unrooted gb ... A reboot solved the forgetfulness. It came out of the blue the 2nd day I had the phone.

    Sent From A Taco Bell Drive-Thru.
  5. JeffDenver
    Offline

    JeffDenver New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I ended up having to do a factory reset. That seems to have fixed it.

    Some things I learned:

    1) No, a factory reset will not restore the OS to a previous state. I am still on the ICS leak.

    2) Rebooting did not fix the issue.

    3) Clearing data did not fix the issue.

    So whatever it was, it was an OS thing, not a settings thing.
  6. Myco
    Offline

    Myco New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No launcher problems here. Only issue I have now is going from bad to worse battery life on stock battery. Just 20 minutes of web browsing and temp hit 128.
  7. hoboX10
    Offline

    hoboX10 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
    So I'm guessing I'm the only one so far that found the bug I mentioned?
  8. crxlsturbo
    Offline

    crxlsturbo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I used to have the 3.14 leak and even on my extended battery I would get worse battery life. So I unlocked my bootloader and rooted my phone and installed cleanrom ics. Way better battery and more smoother.