I think I bricked my phone help please!!

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by blutc, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. blutc

    blutc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so I finally figured out how to change the roms n i had ultimate droid installed n it worked fine a lil slow but fine... then i wanted to try the smoked glass n installed it n rebooted everything went fine but the phone only gets past the M logo then the ud ultimate droid logo repeatedly rolls on n off :( someone please tell me i can fix it!! thank u for anyones help sorry im a noob n dont kno alot i promise to leave it alone if it gets fixed
     
  2. STIDRIVER

    STIDRIVER Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try posting in the Rescue Squad section.. I had a similar problem and they fixed me right up :)
     
  3. warrior21

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Boot back into recovery and flash a previous Rom

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. Kmart95

    Kmart95 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure you wipe data when switching roms too. And ALWAYS make a backup :)
     
  5. warrior21

    warrior21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I hope he made a backup

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,838
    Likes Received:
    625
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +670
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    You're not bricked...just in a boot loop. Like the others said try booting into recovery then wipe data and cache then reflash the ROM that should fix the problem.

    And yes ALWAYS MAKE A BACKUP

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  7. blutc

    blutc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    am i screwed if i didnt make a back up?? n how do i boot in recovery wen i cant get past the boot loop?? thanks for all ur help
     
  8. kristoff125

    kristoff125 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hold X while you turn on your phone, goes into SPRecovery, if you have that installed, then install a previous rom.
    Not quite sure the options in the menu, but one says backup or restore or something of that sort, pick a previous rom, if not there's another way to reboot to stock, have to look it up for ya real quick.

    There's a post that explains how verizon fixes your phone for you.

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-droid/47349-now-you-can-live-without-fear-bricking.html

    Don't mess it up or it might completely brick, however I've done it several times and it's pretty much impossible to mess up unless while the process is running you pick up your phone, throw it against a wall and then smash your computer with a sledgehammer, or something like that.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2010
  9. blutc

    blutc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok thanks i got it into clockwork recovery it said reboot system now apply sdcard.update .zip wipe data/factory reset wipe cache partition install zip from sdcard nandroid wat do i do next im sorry for bothering everyone but i appreciate all the help
     
  10. kristoff125

    kristoff125 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You would want to go into nandroid and do a restore.
     
  11. blutc

    blutc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i did nandroid nothing found omg i cant fix this where can i download roms to put on sd card n mount it to the computer?? thanks again
     
  12. Webst3r

    Webst3r Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Take your pick from here