I severely tanked my droid x2

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Drodx2lost, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. Drodx2lost

    Drodx2lost New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This all started as I was having a problem with my contacts. I was a rooted user and basically when I clicked on contacts it was crashing to the home screen. I tried a factory reset and that still didnt work.

    I started to play around with permissions and basically got the dumb idea to delete the whole system\app folder thinking I could just copy it back ( I downloaded fresh copy from another thread someone posted on here). Once I deleted it things went bad and I had to reboot the phone.

    From there I just get the droid logo and sound over and over.
    I can get into restore mode but nothing seems to work that I have tried so far. Clearing cache and factory restore.

    Is there anyway to get USB working as I feel like if I could copy the app folder back to the phone I would be able to fix myself up. I really have no ideas on what to do next if anything.

    Hopefully someone has an idea. I have done nothing with update.zip as I am not sure what it even does I have seen various version on the web and do not want to do more damage.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. bigeric828

    bigeric828 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    sounds like an sbf flash is in order.
     
  3. Drodx2lost

    Drodx2lost New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont think I can do that. How can I run the sbf when I cant get into the OS to install RDSlite?
     
  4. brad92

    brad92 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Ratings:
    +17
    You have to use a computer for RSD Lite.

    sent from my ZombieStomped X
     
  5. Drodx2lost

    Drodx2lost New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, but how do I go about getting USB support on my x2? I have the fastboot menu up. What option should I be choosing?
     
  6. Zog

    Zog Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is sbf even available on the x2 yet? I don't think it is. Sounds like you bricked it man. Hope its still under warranty.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  7. Drodx2lost

    Drodx2lost New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is under warranty its just a week or so old. I dont think they will even take it back. will they? It just keeps rebooting and saying droid over and over
     
  8. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    sounds like a brick to me...you can see if they'll let you return it, or wait and hope for an sbf to be released i guess
     
  9. X_TAC23

    X_TAC23 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,792
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    Ratings:
    +9
    My droid world has an sbf for x2 I believe.
     
  10. Drodx2lost

    Drodx2lost New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone tell me the steps I would need to even install the SBF?
     
  11. Drodx2lost

    Drodx2lost New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried early usb enermeration it starts to install something on my desktop then the phone reboots and just says droid over and over. Is there a different option perhaps to give me just basic usb function?
     
  12. nerdslogic

    nerdslogic Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Cybertron
    Ratings:
    +1
    Can you post a link please