I Screwed myself

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by prey, Jan 3, 2013.

  1. prey

    prey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    While in the process of installing a new rom... I updated to a new recovery (TWRP) I accidentally wiped my internal data. This was after I had already wiped everything else (cache, factory reset etc).

    now....

    I dont have anything to install. My phone seems like its just a... recovery.

    My computer will not recognize it anymore. I plus it in to usb and get the usual 'sound' .. but nothing shows up.
    So I cant copy over a new rom to install.

    help??
     
  2. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    If you've been able to do all that, theoretically your computer should recognize it while in the bootloader (not recovery) because it has before, and you could flash the factory images from there.
     
  3. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +335
    Were you on stock or a ROM? If in stock you should just be able to reboot. If not sounds like you will need to SBF/fastboot restore (whichever it is called for the D1.)

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
  4. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    Oh I assumed it was a gnex by the forum, but didn't notice the device still says D1.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +335
    And I didn't notice where it was posted. Lol which phone is this about?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
     
  6. prey

    prey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes, sorry. its a galaxy nexus.

    Even on bootloader, on win7.. it tries to install files for "Android 1.0" but fails..

    on win xp.. it seems that Android 1.0 installs, but I still cant find where I can access my phone.
     
  7. cupfulloflol

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
    If you have had adb/fastboot working in the past you just need to associate the driver with the device. You should be able to set this via Device manager.
     
  8. prey

    prey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    finally, somehow, my computer recognizes my device as a "Samsung Android phone" "Android ADB Interface"

    so how can I copy over a file(rom) to this??

    Its not listed in 'My Computer' and in the Devices and Printers its listed as a VMware USB Device.. but cant copy anything to it
     
  9. Nemo Aeternamn

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    Via adb... Type

    Adb push "location with the name of the file" "where you want the file to go "

    So... Something like...

    Adb push c:\users\name\rom.zip /sdcard/rom.zip

    Cellar Door

    "Who are you people and where is my horse?"
     
  10. prey

    prey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for sounding dumb, but, Ive never used adb.. where do I load it so I can do this 'via adb'

    thanks
     
  11. prey

    prey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    doesnt seem like it has really found my device..
    under command prompt.. i typed adb device and it does not list any devices attached
     
  12. Nemo Aeternamn

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    Ya... You'll have to use command prompt... Once you get adb to recognize it

    Cellar Door

    "Who are you people and where is my horse?"
     
  13. prey

    prey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    why would the computer say I have an android adb device attached.. but "adb device" would say none are attached
     
  14. Nemo Aeternamn

    Nemo Aeternamn Droid X Rescue Squad Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mo-ab
    Ratings:
    +13
    Because the adb driver probably isn't installed properly...

    Easiest way to get it setup would be using something like wugfresh's toolkit

    Cellar Door

    "Who are you people and where is my horse?"
     
  15. carpenter

    carpenter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    looks like you having the same problem as i am....still no luck?
     
Search tags for this page
accidentally wiped everything galaxy nexus
,
accidentally wiped rom in recovery what do i do?
,
i accidentally wiped my internal system on my att galaxy s3
,
i accidently wiped my system cache on my verizon s4
,
i wiped my galaxy s3 rom and i didn't back it up what do i d
,
install rom twrp n7
,

motorola droid razr hd accidently wiped clean

,
s3 accidently wiped mount usb
,
twrp i accidentally wiped system galaxy nexus