I need help

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by unkwn, Jan 22, 2011.

  1. unkwn
    Offline

    unkwn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried looking into this on my own and i can't seem to figure it out.

    I got my Droid awhile back and i decided i would root it.
    Successfully rooting it i uploaded new ROMs on my phone and eventually upgraded it to the Froyo 2.2..

    The other day i woke up to see my phone showing "No Service", i realized that my droid started downloading the new 2.2 software and froze, when i tried pushing the top button to turn the screen black, it shut off.

    Since then my phone only shows "No Service". I tried re-flashing my phone with the older software and re-applying the Froyo software. I am stuck and don't know what to do. I have insurance on my droid, just in case.

    _________________________________________________________________


    Summery of body:

    Can i fix a "No Service" issue with droid?
    If so, how? - Please provide as many links as possible.
     
  2. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Can you get into recovery and load a new Rom?

    Sent from my A855 using Tapatalk
     
  3. unkwn
    Offline

    unkwn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can get into the boot recovery just fine.

    Don't know if i was unclear, sorry. Motorola Droid - original..

    Mis Understood the links below, i'm sure that was not your response.

    I'll check this post through out the day..
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2011
  4. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Ok so you rooted your phone and now you have a no service indicator.

    Did you install a custom recovery?

    It could be the radio in your phone but it could just be something happened during the upgrade.

    If you still have clockwork recovery you can try a factory reset (unless you have to save things, e.g. SMS or such).

    If factory reset (which is wipe cache/data in CWRecovery) does nothing I might try installing a new Rom through CWR.

    Sent from my A855 using Tapatalk
     
  5. unkwn
    Offline

    unkwn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Re-write the whole message..

    Android system recovery <2e> / Patched by SirPsychoS (0.99.3b)

    >reboot system now
    >wipe date/factory reset
    >wipe cache partition
    >mount options
    >backup/restore
    >install

    (can't seem to find the CWrecovery. Where can it be located at?)
    Sorry to be a pain...


    yes, installed custom recovery..
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2011
  6. jeffv2
    Offline

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're using sprecovery, try clockwork recovery from rom manager on the market

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  7. unkwn
    Offline

    unkwn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry.. I can't use the Market at all due to "No service" unless you are talking about another market..

    I was able to connect to wifi and get the ClockWork on the market.. Thanks :D

    I'll keep you all updated
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2011
  8. unkwn
    Offline

    unkwn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Everything i try on the ClockWork ROM from the market keeps telling me i need to install it from the ROM manager..
     
  9. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Ok. try downloading a rom from the internets then putting it on your sdcard, reboot into recovery and flash it.

    Thats how you do it. There is a guide in the second link in my signature. second post is for CWMR.
     
  10. unkwn
    Offline

    unkwn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just a update for you all

    When connecting my phone to WiFi, under about phone it shows the update is still going.. should i wait to see if the update being pushed fixes the issue or move on without it?
     
  11. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    The update will not complete if you have no service on 3g. It is pushed from verizon, not WiFi.
     
  12. unkwn
    Offline

    unkwn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So it will get all the way to the end and do nothing, bleh

    alright moving on
     
  13. unkwn
    Offline

    unkwn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uploaded the bugless beast v3.1 - did nothing

    Next - liquid GingerBread.zip (w.e)
     
  14. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    What do you mean, "did nothing." That tells me nothing.

    Sent from my GimpDroid.
     
  15. unkwn
    Offline

    unkwn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, I installed a new ROM the other day and it still shows no service. I am going to try a update.zip method and see if that does the trick.
    Side question: how come i can't get into SpRecovery, it goes straight to ClockWork Recovery?