I need help with my newly rooted Droid X, please.

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by rynds1, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. rynds1
    Offline

    rynds1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, I am new to the whole rooting and hacking process, but I need some help. As I said, I just rooted my X, and have bootstrapper installed, and after it tells me success on bootstrap recovery, it gives me the droid "guy" (the green droid logo) with an exclamation point, and I have to take the battery out. I have looked up all the tutorials on how to install custom ROMs, but there all in abbreviated terms and I honestly have no idea. So I need some help, if its only just links that will be perfectly fine. Thanks
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2011
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    What method are you using to make a backup? The android Guy and the exclamation point is the stock recovery so you probably didn't properly bootstrap the phone. Open the bootstrapper and hit bootstrap recovery and wait for it to say success and then either manually make a backup by hitting reboot recovery or use the rom manager method, which it sounds like you were trying.

    tappin and a talkin
  3. rynds1
    Offline

    rynds1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hit the bootstrap recovery and got the success message, but the droid guy came up not the menu that I should get.
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Really? So when you hit reboot recovery that's where it gets you?

    tappin and a talkin
  5. rynds1
    Offline

    rynds1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I've tried 6-7 times.. No dice.
  6. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Open your super user app and make sure bootstrapper has been given root permission.

    tappin and a talkin
  7. rynds1
    Offline

    rynds1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I gave it permission. It says allow on Superuser and I am getting success on the one part on Bootstrapper. Ugh I'm stumped.
  8. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Me too. It sounds like all the paramaters are in order so I don't know what's stopping it. I vaguely remember someone else having a similar issue but I don't recall the solution.

    tappin and a talkin
  9. rynds1
    Offline

    rynds1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright, I'm just going to un-root and re-root and see if that helps. Ill mess with it tomorrow and check to see if anyone replies while I'm asleep. Thanks for your help anyway.
  10. turdbogls
    Offline

    turdbogls New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    i know this usually isn't necessary, but download ROM manager, and use that to flash clockwork Mod recovery. then go to bootstrapper app.

    bootstrap recovery
    OK on "success"
    reboot into recovery

    this should work.
  11. rynds1
    Offline

    rynds1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still hasnt worked.. I'm starting to wonder if a new ROM is worth all this trouble.. Ugh.