I need help, I want unlock my Motorola Droid Razr Verizon

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by vladas1987, May 3, 2012.

  1. droid2drummer

    droid2drummer Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,595
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Ga...
    Ratings:
    +10
    You and I have been around a while ...lol I thought they were rumors about the razr during speculation threads of pre release being possibly a world phone. Now that I think about it...hmmmm. I guess since there is a GSM and a cdma this is possible after all...Hell with P3 anything could happen...lol

    Sent from my Droid Razr using Tapatalk 2
     
  2. Didier9

    Didier9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    is Razr GSM capable?

    My understanding (based on what's available on the Motorola web site) is that the Droid Razr has the proper hardware for GSM, but that it is locked out by Verizon to force people to use their own international service.
    I assume that the GSM radio can probably be unlocked by Verizon if they feel like it.

    In the past, I have read that Verizon will unlock a phone that has been under contract for a while (at least 6 months), but I have not asked them myself. I believe I will try to have then unlock my Droid Razr when it is 6 months old because I do travel overseas on occasion.
     
  3. mustangraptor03

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    According to several articles I read a while back (I don't have the links), the GSM would be unlocked by default. Once people start receiving the OTA update or I suppose use the leak, I'm sure someone will attempt to test it to make sure.
     
  4. tlrasmussen

    tlrasmussen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got off the phone with Verizon support, and I was informed my RAZR running ICS is already unlocked for international GSM usage by default. The nice lady said all Verizon 4G phones were set up this way, though I can't verify that independently. I was advised to ask for a USIM (usage SIM) card to use in my phone from any provider I decided to use while I'm in Europe this summer.
     
  5. jbideganeta

    jbideganeta New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    GSM unlocked

    I sure hope that is the case. I am traveling to Europe in a week and have tried in vain to get information from Verizon. The only thing I could get out of Verizon when I asked Global Tech Support if the SIM was unlocked was "that is not a service we provide", which to me meant that it either was already unlocked or that they couldn't or wouldn't do it. It would be nice to know ahead of time if it was possible.
     
  6. Chharith

    Chharith New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Long Beach
    Ratings:
    +1
    dope

    I sure hope you are right, I fly to Italy in a few hours, I have a Razr, I have 4.0 and will attempt to get a European service provided sum in the next few days, i will let. You all know how that goes.
     
  7. Chharith

    Chharith New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Long Beach
    Ratings:
    +1
    Its confirmed, a few hours ago I stopped into a wireless store and bought a week to week no contract plan from 'wind'. The lady took out my sim card and inserted the new one, my razr asked for a sim password, she put it in, and then the phone had a pop up saying that the sim card was not recognized, all you have to do is go into your settings and allow the use of other services, I kept the data turned off for the 3 hours it took the sim to activate to avoid any roaming fees. She told me that I was the first person to come into that store with a unlocked smart phone, thanks to the ota update to pics 4.0.

    I'm trying out 'wind' for now, its like our metro PC's but worse, if that even makes sense, I can only call and text people with the same service provider or else I get charged like 12 euro cents per text, I forgot what the call per minute rate is, it was a lot. I also get only 1mb of data, but I guess it works out because the plan charges you on a week by week basis. So it can really add up. With 'wind' I keep going below 3g coverage indoors, and a very slow 3g out doors, almost iPhone slow. and I keep getting signed out of my Google account. I am not even going to try surfing youtube.

    Once I get comfortable in Italy I will try out the only other service provider out here, 'vodaphone' or some crap like that, I avoided it because it has a contract, and a lot of Americans here have been hit with surprised fees, the euros can really hurt your hard earned money.

    So, there you have it, any verizon smart phone with 4.0 comes unlocked by default for global use, just be warned the service is nothing near as good as it is in the US... damn the things I take for granted!

    Hope this helps!!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. bodean10

    bodean10 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. susanhempler

    susanhempler New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unlock Droid Razor 4g Verizon NEED STEPS

    Did you ever find the steps to accomplish this??? Need to do this as well...
     
  10. fireman00

    fireman00 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I was told by a verizon tech that they don't offer unlock codes for 4g phones because the locking to their CDMA network is done via software on the SIM card and that if I were to use another company's card it would work. Can someone whose more knowledgeable advise if that's true? I'd like to give Net10 a whirl but only if I can bring my MAXX with me.
     
  11. phontek642

    phontek642 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Lindenhurst,N.Y.
    Ratings:
    +1
    Doesn't anyone read the previous posts? It was stated that if your verizon phone is running android version 4.0 or higher(4.1.2), that it is unlocked for GSM by default and you need to get a U-sim card from an overseas cell provider to use it there. available week to week or with contract. but its slow and expensive.

    read the posts!!
     
  12. Richardneu

    Richardneu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    let me no

    If thats true. I got a Droid Razr. I want to use on the Straight. Talk. Network
     
Search tags for this page
droid razr unlock
,
how to unlock a droid razr
,
how to unlock a verizon droid razr
,

how to unlock droid razr

,
how to unlock motorola droid razr
,
how to unlock verizon droid razr
,

unlock droid razr

,
unlock motorola droid razr
,
unlock verizon droid razr
,
unlocking droid razr