1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

I need help, I want unlock my Motorola Droid Razr Verizon

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by vladas1987, May 3, 2012.

  1. vladas1987
    Offline

    vladas1987 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I have a Motorola Droid Razr on USA Verizon network and I want use my phone on other network.
    How can i unlock my phone?
  2. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    819
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    The phone can't be "unlocked" in the sense that the bootloader is locked on these phones. I have heard of SOME success with re-flashing ROMs for the Cricket network, but that's about it.


    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk with speech to text translation. Please excuse any minor grammatical/punctuation/spelling errors.
  3. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I've heard there is a hack to get the Razr flashed to a GSM network. Don't know the details or if there's even any truth to it. Don't shoot the messenger. :)

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
  4. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    819
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    GSM is an entirely different cellular technology and different cellular radio. The RAZR sold for Verizon can't and never will be compatible with GSM, no matter what you do to it, since this model doesn't have a GSM radio installed.


    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk with speech to text translation. Please excuse any minor grammatical/punctuation/spelling errors.
  5. syndicate0017
    Offline

    syndicate0017 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1619563&page=2

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
  6. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
  7. tech_head
    Offline

    tech_head New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    The functionality does exist. The phones are using a Qualcomm world phone chipset for voice and a separate Motorola labeled chip for LTE. Verizon announced that the Droid4 would get a world phone update. It uses the same guts as the Bionic, Razr, Razr Maxx. Verizon disables the GSM in the radio firmware. in one of the secret menus you can actually see the GSM settings and them being non functional and disabled.
  8. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    819
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Well blow me down. If there's one thing I am willing to do, it's admit when I'm wrong.

    It goes against everything I've read or been told about CDMA versus GDM, but it also makes sense that chips are being made more and more these days to perform multiple functions for different devices, if for no other reason than to keep costs down and profits up.

    Bravo to the devs for cracking this.


    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk with speech to text translation. Please excuse any minor grammatical/punctuation/spelling errors.
  9. thaDroidz
    Offline

    thaDroidz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    neptune
    Stick to battery advise and leave phone unlocking to the experts... lmfao
    :)

    Edit:
    DUDE! ha.. ha.. ha...


    ----posted MAXXED OUT WITH dessert----
  10. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    819
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Touche' :D

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2
  11. droid2drummer
    Offline

    droid2drummer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ga...
    Damn I'll bite on this one... Really?? Hell I would've lost a bet on this one..lol This is why I love these forums... News to me. Big news IMO...
    Sent from my Droid Razr using Tapatalk 2
  12. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    8,606
    Likes Received:
    819
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Thanks for being with that me on that one too. I would have lost the entire pot on that bet.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2
  13. droid2drummer
    Offline

    droid2drummer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ga...
    You and I have been around a while ...lol I thought they were rumors about the razr during speculation threads of pre release being possibly a world phone. Now that I think about it...hmmmm. I guess since there is a GSM and a cdma this is possible after all...Hell with P3 anything could happen...lol

    Sent from my Droid Razr using Tapatalk 2
  14. Didier9
    Offline

    Didier9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is Razr GSM capable?

    My understanding (based on what's available on the Motorola web site) is that the Droid Razr has the proper hardware for GSM, but that it is locked out by Verizon to force people to use their own international service.
    I assume that the GSM radio can probably be unlocked by Verizon if they feel like it.

    In the past, I have read that Verizon will unlock a phone that has been under contract for a while (at least 6 months), but I have not asked them myself. I believe I will try to have then unlock my Droid Razr when it is 6 months old because I do travel overseas on occasion.
  15. mustangraptor03
    Offline

    mustangraptor03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    According to several articles I read a while back (I don't have the links), the GSM would be unlocked by default. Once people start receiving the OTA update or I suppose use the leak, I'm sure someone will attempt to test it to make sure.
  16. tlrasmussen
    Offline

    tlrasmussen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got off the phone with Verizon support, and I was informed my RAZR running ICS is already unlocked for international GSM usage by default. The nice lady said all Verizon 4G phones were set up this way, though I can't verify that independently. I was advised to ask for a USIM (usage SIM) card to use in my phone from any provider I decided to use while I'm in Europe this summer.
  17. jbideganeta
    Offline

    jbideganeta New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    GSM unlocked

    I sure hope that is the case. I am traveling to Europe in a week and have tried in vain to get information from Verizon. The only thing I could get out of Verizon when I asked Global Tech Support if the SIM was unlocked was "that is not a service we provide", which to me meant that it either was already unlocked or that they couldn't or wouldn't do it. It would be nice to know ahead of time if it was possible.
  18. Chharith
    Offline

    Chharith New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach
    dope

    I sure hope you are right, I fly to Italy in a few hours, I have a Razr, I have 4.0 and will attempt to get a European service provided sum in the next few days, i will let. You all know how that goes.
  19. Chharith
    Offline

    Chharith New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach
    Its confirmed, a few hours ago I stopped into a wireless store and bought a week to week no contract plan from 'wind'. The lady took out my sim card and inserted the new one, my razr asked for a sim password, she put it in, and then the phone had a pop up saying that the sim card was not recognized, all you have to do is go into your settings and allow the use of other services, I kept the data turned off for the 3 hours it took the sim to activate to avoid any roaming fees. She told me that I was the first person to come into that store with a unlocked smart phone, thanks to the ota update to pics 4.0.

    I'm trying out 'wind' for now, its like our metro PC's but worse, if that even makes sense, I can only call and text people with the same service provider or else I get charged like 12 euro cents per text, I forgot what the call per minute rate is, it was a lot. I also get only 1mb of data, but I guess it works out because the plan charges you on a week by week basis. So it can really add up. With 'wind' I keep going below 3g coverage indoors, and a very slow 3g out doors, almost iPhone slow. and I keep getting signed out of my Google account. I am not even going to try surfing youtube.

    Once I get comfortable in Italy I will try out the only other service provider out here, 'vodaphone' or some crap like that, I avoided it because it has a contract, and a lot of Americans here have been hit with surprised fees, the euros can really hurt your hard earned money.

    So, there you have it, any verizon smart phone with 4.0 comes unlocked by default for global use, just be warned the service is nothing near as good as it is in the US... damn the things I take for granted!

    Hope this helps!!
    1 person likes this.
  20. bodean10
    Offline

    bodean10 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
Search tags for this page
can a verizon droid razr be unlocked
,
droid razr unlock
,
droid razr unlocked
,
how do i unlock my droid razr
,

how to unlock a droid razr

,
how to unlock a verizon droid razr
,

how to unlock droid razr

,
how to unlock droid razr verizon
,

how to unlock motorola droid razr

,
how to unlock verizon droid razr
,
how to unlock verizon motorola droid razr
,

unlock droid razr

,
unlock motorola droid razr
,
unlock verizon droid razr
,
unlocking droid razr