I need help bad:( I have the droid 2

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by josel545, Oct 24, 2010.

  1. josel545

    josel545 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the droid 2 and im still kinda new to the whole droid statement and what not, but lately my screen has been flashing, the screen will go black, the phone will freeze and ill have to take the battery out and restart it, the voice commands feature will usually freeze the phone up and the biggest thing buggin me is that i cant update any of the apps through the app market.

    Every once in a while the message on the top of the screen will pop up saying I have to update the apps so when I go into the market to update them the phone will say that there is a malfunction in the market and take me out of the market. The thing is that it does that every single time!!! So im wondering what I should do. Im considering just gettin a new droid maybe the dx or the incredible. Can anyone point me in a direction that wont be as costly and maybe I can save my d2. Thanks a million to any one who can help. Sorry for the extremely long rant.

    Sent from my DROID2
     
  2. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    are you rooted or is it stock?
     
  3. josel545

    josel545 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stock as I said im new to the droid statement. I've had the d2 since it came out and it just started giving me trouble less then a week ago.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  4. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    This will stink but I would recommend doing a factory reset, you will lose all data and you will lose your apps (you can re-download them in the market downloads section, you won't be charged again for any paid apps). If that doesn't fix the issue I would call Verizon and let them know about the issues.
     
  5. josel545

    josel545 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you once again

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  6. josel545

    josel545 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried to get the menu to reset my phone and everytime I try it the phone freezes I have to press the lock button to unfreeze it

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  7. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    Sounds to me like you may just need to give Verizon a call. I can't say for sure but it sounds like your phone is faulty.
     
  8. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +61
    EDIT: THIS IS FOR THE ORIGINAL DROID.
    1. Power it down
    2. Press and hold the power button and the x key until you see a yellow triangle icon then close the keyboard.
    3. Hold the volume up button, keep holding it and press the camera button.
    4. A menu will appear and one of the choices will be "wipe data/factory reset" -- use the direction pad on they keyboard to select this option.
    5. Scroll down using the direction pad to the "yes" option and select it with the d-pad select key.

    If you selected YES, all data including third-party applications will be deleted from the Motorola DROID. Once the wipe is complete, the phone will reboot to its factory fresh state.

    Credit to knowyourcell.com
    SORRY THE ABOVE SITE IS ONLY FOR THE DROID NOT THE DROID 2.

    Trying out Sprint for a month. Sent from my Evo using Tapatalk. 4G is pointless when you don't live in one of the few available network areas.
     
  9. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    Nice, good find. I still have the D1 so I wasn't sure if it was the same process or not to get into recovery.
     
  10. josel545

    josel545 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    By all apps what do you mean will I loose any pictures or music or phone numbers??

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. Quicksilver7714

    Quicksilver7714 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,437
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +61
    Thanks. I like that site.

    Trying out Sprint for a month. Sent from my Evo using Tapatalk. 4G is pointless when you don't live in one of the few available network areas.
     
  12. OneTenderRebel

    OneTenderRebel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Hampton Falls, NH
    Ratings:
    +64
    pictures and music store on your sd card.