I must be outa my mind.....

Freezetron

Reaction score
Sup, names Freeze, don't ask for my real name or details, i'm a private person and prefer to keep it that way. Im a pretty major tech guy as I do IT for a living and then come home and spend more hours on my custom build gaming rig, play my xbox 360, watch stuff on my custom built HTPC with gigabit networking...ect..ect..

For the most part though, I have been pretty happy and satisfied with my "basic" phones from Verizon over the years. I"ve been pretty much attached to the LG brand ever since getting my first cell phone from my first IT job, an LG 3200 clam case back in 2004. Needless to say, ALOT has changed in the cell phone market but I just never saw a point, reason or need to spend all this money on these "smartphones" everyones been having orgasms about. The idea of paying nearly $100 a month in a cell phone bill, let alone $200 for a freaking "phone" was just beyond me, even for a tech nerd that I am.

Until last week

My 2 year contract is nearly up and i've been curious to see what was new in the cell phone world lately, so I went to my local verizon store since my work day was being pretty quiet and with the kiddies and teens in school, the store was a helluva alot quieter as well.

Of course I had the Verizon reps right my face asking me what I want and what they could do and I said I was just looking at "basic" replacement phones and wasn't interested in all the smart phone crap. The guy gave me a particularly funny look and asked

"Uhh, any reason why that is?"

"I dunno, I just find the whole idea of needing and paying out the end for a freaking phone that does all this useless apps crap pointless IMO. I just wanna make calls and text message and for my next phone, I want a full keyboard now that im texting more. I couldn't help but notice the basic phone selection kinda sucks now"