1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

i messed up...help

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by onedabred, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. onedabred
    Offline

    onedabred New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I accidently erased my media data when I was clearing some caches out and now all of my notification sounds that came with my moto droid are gone and I can't set any of my pics as wallpaper without using an app. Help!!!! Please!!!!
  2. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Do you have a backup you can restore?

    I'm not why you say you can't use a photo for wallpaper without an app. Tap menu, tap wallpaper.

    Mike
  3. onedabred
    Offline

    onedabred New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, I go to my pics now. Select a pic. Hit set as. Choose wallpaper. It says it is setting it. Then nothing. Same background as before. Before I erased my media data I had no prob.
  4. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Might need to use link 2 in my sig. Option 1 then option 5
  5. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Perhaps I'm missing something. I do not have a media file. I have music (songs) cont photo (contact photos) and Drocap (screen capture), DCIM (photos) Droid photos.
  6. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Do you have a backup you can restore?
  7. onedabred
    Offline

    onedabred New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, no backup. I went into settings. Selected all and I was going through each app and was emptying my caches. Down the list I got to media and accidently erased data. I have 2.2 so I'm not sure the root method will work. Going to try a system reboot. Pain in the ass but worth a shot.
  8. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    link 3 in my sig will root any 2.2
  9. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    How's about a factory data reset instead? I mean as finicky as RSD Lite is, should we really just throw it out as the first solution?

    @onedabred: I think you're on the right track. Go here on your phone:

    Code:
    menu -> settings -> privacy
    and make sure that the "Back up data" and "Automatic restore" buttons are checked then -> Factory data reset.

    Should get you fixed up. This is best done while you can connect via WiFi. You will have to re-sign into Google. Once you do that, DON'T touch your phone for about a half hour or so (or less) until you get the message in your notification bar that 'xx' apps have been restored. In other words, after you re-sign your phone into Google, don't get impatient by going to market or anything else, let the phone just sit and restore all your stuff for a bit, have a cup of coffee or a beer, depending on what time of day it is . . . .

    good luck
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
  10. onedabred
    Offline

    onedabred New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    factory reset worked

    Just a pain having to reset every app now and all that other fun stuff.
  11. mwhartman
    Offline

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South FL
    Glad it worked for you.
  12. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    +1 ^^ this. Me too.
Search tags for this page

cricket samsung android settings messed up on got 1x data

,

i messed up the ribbon on my htc rezound