I lost root wtf

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by creamers, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. creamers
    Offline

    creamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK so all hell broke lose with chevys kernels. I flashed one got stuck on moto logo. Whenever I tried to gain root privileges I kept getting

    sh: /system/xbin/which: Permission Denied

    I tried restoring a nandroid backup I tried rerooting. What I finally had to do was to rerun the droidmod rom.

    Has anyone ever came across losing root before.
     
  2. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's happened to me a couple of times. There are any number of causes, so who knows specifically what you did. No big deal, you can re-root without losing any data.
     
  3. creamers
    Offline

    creamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried running the update.zip and it didnt reroot.

    I didnt know if this happened to anyone else.
     
  4. adrynalyne
    Offline

    adrynalyne Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,896
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +4
    Walk us through what you did and on what ROM.
     
  5. creamers
    Offline

    creamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am using Droidmod 1.0.


    I was trying to install Chevys 10 Slot 1.2Ghz Kernel using the update.zip method.

    I got stuck on the Moto logo and restored my partition using nandroid which booted me right up and Im assuming you lose root when you restore a boot or something I have no idea.

    One question to what dous 10 slot and 5 slot kernel mean.
     
  6. unix.punkx
    Offline

    unix.punkx Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    It just means there is literally more slots to choose from in the speed ranges. 10 slot you have more choices in between the min and max OC speed as compared to a 5 slot
     
  7. creamers
    Offline

    creamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    I really wants the 10 slot because I want the more refined setcpu selection any way to do that on DroidMod 1.0
     
  8. unix.punkx
    Offline

    unix.punkx Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,330
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Bloomington, IN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah not sure about DroidMod. I think that is a 2.0.1 ROM (ESD56 based) and the kernels are 2.1 ESE53 based so I dont think it will work with DroidMod
     
  9. creamers
    Offline

    creamers Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    The have a 1.2 Kernel but it is a 5 slot I belive.
     
Similar Threads
  1. gearchief06
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    998
  2. seyaffe
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    751
  3. kerncop
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    1,877
  4. ragenrebel
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    2,209
  5. jet
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
Loading...