i live in an area on the edge between 3g & 4g

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX HD' started by threecatranch, May 19, 2013.

  1. threecatranch

    threecatranch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    And I have trouble getting a signal when my wifi is down. Is there an app or another way to choose 3g-only on my razr maxx HD? I have tried apn and a couple of others but they seem only to toggle data on or off, not choose. Thanks!
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    Your best option, move!

    Sorry, had to say it. You're in a tough spot. I'm guessing you want to try keeping it on 3G because it keeps switching back and forth. Maybe I'm missing something.
     
  3. threecatranch

    threecatranch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, you're right, that's the situation I'm in. Bummer. Thanks, though.
     
  4. zomnomnombie

    zomnomnombie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +36
    -Your best option is not moving.

    -Open your dialer.

    -Key in *#*#4636#*#*

    -Go to phone information.

    -Scroll down until you see the drop box that says LTE/CDMA/GSM/OMGWTFBBQ etc.

    -Select CDMA only.

    -Results will be consistent 3G service but no LTE.

    -Can be toggled as necessary.
     
  5. threecatranch

    threecatranch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Trying it now.
     
  6. threecatranch

    threecatranch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems to work well! Thank you very much!!
     
  7. gdedios

    gdedios New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use a free app called LTE OnOFF. Works like a champ. Just selected CDMA only for those areas where you're at the edge of 3g and 4g. Then select LTE/CDMA/EvDO when your 4G signal is strong. It saves a lot of my battery at work because prior to the app it would continually try to go to 4G. I actually have it automatically launch from SmartActions as I drive up to my work site.
     
    #7 gdedios, May 19, 2013
    Last edited: May 19, 2013
  8. jduale51

    jduale51 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    309
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got it just after got my Maxx HD. Works very well.
     
Search tags for this page
apn para motorola razr i 4g
,
droid maxx only on 3g
,
droid razer max 4g on only when data on
,
droid razr only getting 3g
,
razer switching from 4g to 3g
,
razor maxx hd 3g to 4g
,
switch droid razr maxx hd to 3g
,
use 3g only on razr maxx hd
,
use verizon internet or cdma apn?
,

why cant i choose 3g or 4g