I just joined :D

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by v1rtu0s1ty, Nov 27, 2010.

  1. v1rtu0s1ty

    v1rtu0s1ty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi folks,

    I'm so glad I found you guys. After 3 years of wait, it was just 3 hours ago that I upgraded my cellphone. I just bought a Samsung Captivate at Sam's Club. I was so lucky since it was on sale for $0.96. I think I paid $1.03. However, I'm back to the 2 year plan.

    Hopefully, I'll find really good information here to unlock the potentials of my new phone. I really haven't scrutinized it yet.

    Also, I saw a thread here about rooting this phone. I haven't read everything yet.

    Anyways, I'm so glad that I'm now a member of your team! :)

    Thanks,

    Neil
     
  2. Canadroid

    Canadroid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome to the forums, Neil!

    There is definitely a plethora of information about rooting here for you. Sit back, relax, and dive in--don't rush out and do the deed until you are good and comfy. dancedroid
     
  3. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,455
    Likes Received:
    92
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +92
    Welcome to D/F - anything you need, just ask :)
     
  4. v1rtu0s1ty

    v1rtu0s1ty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks folks! :D

    I've been digging our subforums looking for information about the benefit of rooting this phone. I'm also searching the HowTo about it and as well as reverting back to the original configuration/firmware. That's possible right?
     
  5. cereal killer

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,233
    Likes Received:
    1,006
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,041
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    Welcome to the forums!!

    Enjoy!!
     
  6. Canadroid

    Canadroid Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It certianly is, via several methods depending on how drastic. RSD program with an .sbf file would be for a 100% deal I suppose; this involves some risk of bricking your phone if not done correctly so do read up and ask any questions before you download that program and start playing with re-flashes. Not sure specifically details for that w/ your Captivate though...?
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2010
  7. v1rtu0s1ty

    v1rtu0s1ty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok. Has anyone successfully hacked Captivate? Has someone written a HowTo for it? I'm currently reading "THIS IS WHAT ROOT MEANS". It's pretty cool.

    Also, since I'm just 4 hours old with this Captivate and Android, how does the interface looks when it gets rooted?
     
  8. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On Board a ship
    Ratings:
    +4
    Alright, rooting by itself won't change your interface, but it will allow you to use apps that require "root" level access that you otherwise wouldn't have.

    The most common reason anyone roots their phone is to get wireless tethering for free - to use their phones unlimited wireless connection with a laptop without paying big red anything extra.

    After you root and reboot, you won't "see" anything different except a new app installed called "superuser". You can test root access a number of different ways, either by installing and running an app that requires root, or installing a terminal emulator and typing "su" and enter.

    A dialog box will pop up saying that a specific app is requesting superuser access (like windows administrator rights), and if you check "yes" you gave that app permission to change/do something at the root level of the OS.

    Be sure you know what that app is going to do in the first place because it can be dangerous.

    Droidforums.net appified!
     
  9. v1rtu0s1ty

    v1rtu0s1ty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup, the reasons I bought this phone are tethering, ssh, and maybe vpn. However, I think if I don't exploit this phone, I will pay lots of $$ when doing tethering just like what you said. So yes, I want to hack it but I need a reliable HOWTO that will work with my Samsung Captivate.

    By the way, the data plan that I got from AT&T is 2G which is $25. They told me they don't have the unlimited package anymore. In wireless tethering, assuming I rooted my phone, does it mean that I will still be using their 3G network and not the WiFi feature? It's because I'm planning to tether while I am in the train(when I go to work and going back home). My train travel is 1 hour and 45 mins.
     
  10. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On Board a ship
    Ratings:
    +4
    2g tethering? At&t was feeding you bull****.

    Yes, wireless tether uses the native 3g network on your phone and shares it over an ad-hoc network created by wireless tether.

    So you have the at&t phone or the verizon phone, to be clear? There is no unlimited plan on at&t whereas verizons data packages for smartphones are still unlimited (while for some reason the aircards have a 5 GB data/mo cap).

    Keep in mind tethering will use your smartphones data package for your laptop internet, so if your smartphones data package isn't unlimited, you still have to moniter it.

    Droidforums.net appified!
     
  11. v1rtu0s1ty

    v1rtu0s1ty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Samsung Captivate phone and my provider is AT&T.

    Yup, I will monitor it. I don't think I'll be able to reach 2g for the whole month. Most of the time, I'm sleeping in the train. hehehe :)

    Correct me if I'm wrong. If I don't hack my cellphone, am I correct that I will be paying a separate bill for tethering?
     
  12. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On Board a ship
    Ratings:
    +4
    Not sure what at&t did. Tmobile completely unlocked froyos wifi tethering on the g2 so that's completely free, my buddy has one that's how I know that, whereas sprint forced a "sprint 3g hotspot" on the evo, so it requires you to set up the extra service through sprint (my gfs dad has the evo 4g, that's how I know that).

    In settings, wireless and networks, tethering, what does it say exactly?

    By the way, I apologize, when you say 2g here, people assume you mightve meant 2nd generation (2g) cellular network, instead of 2 gigabyte (2Gb), hence my initial reaction. I now know what you meant by your last response.

    Droidforums.net appified!
     
  13. v1rtu0s1ty

    v1rtu0s1ty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't see Tethering.

    This is what I have:
    [​IMG]
     
  14. rdroidr77

    rdroidr77 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    welcome!!!!
     
  15. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On Board a ship
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ah, I forgot, I didn't think the captivates came out with froyo or not.

    If not, wireless tether may or may not work. Barnacle wifi tether should work then (it works with my gfs eclair-powered android 2.1 lg ally)

    Droidforums.net appified!