I have finally done it.. I bricked my phone

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by MischiefsMommy, Oct 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MischiefsMommy

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Near a tourest spot
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

    I was trying to teach myself how to install ROMs. I was at the final stage. I use the arrow keys and not the volume. My fingers slipped. The arrow keys were pressed as well as the ok button. The phone was rebooted, and now there is the M on the phone and it will not go past that point. I have pulled the battery, and there was no luck. So that tells me, I have bricked my phone. YEA ME!!! Please help me!!! Thanks....
     
  2. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Pull the battery. Wait thirty seconds. Put the battery back in, close the back of the phone. Slide out the keyboard. Hit and hold X, power phone on. See if Recovery comes up and which one it is. :)
     
  3. MischiefsMommy

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Near a tourest spot
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok ive got the little triangle with the ! and the little android.
     
  4. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Okay. You can either retry to flash the SPRecovery SBF (recommended) and then flash a ROM (and have to set your phone back up), or you can do a factory reset and hopefully return to stock, but have to set your phone back up anyway.
     
  5. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Ah, wait! D2 can't be rooted with SPRecovery. You'll need another method.
     
  6. MischiefsMommy

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Near a tourest spot
    Ratings:
    +0
    umm im a total noob. :icon_eek: I dont understand what your tellin me to do. sorry. :)
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Are you trying to root a Droid 2 like your Phone model in your info panel says?
     
  8. MischiefsMommy

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Near a tourest spot
    Ratings:
    +0
    No I was already rooted. I was teaching myself how to change roms
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Install ROMs, sorry. And you're posting in the D2 forum. Trying to keep tabs on too many things at once with a herd of cats leads to stupid questions on my part. :)

    Okay, if you can get into recovery and the bootloader your phone isn't bricked, so that's good news at least. :)
     
  10. MischiefsMommy

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Near a tourest spot
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok so how do i get there from the triangle with the android
     
  11. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Okay, unfortunately I'm not 100% on what you have to do with the D2. I'm assuming you were trying to get bootstrap to work. Could I see the guide you were following so I can do some quick self-education? :)
     
  12. MischiefsMommy

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Near a tourest spot
    Ratings:
    +0
    you had me power off the pne while hone pull the battery power on the phone while holding down the x key and asked me to tell you what was showing, that is the little android wiht the white triangle and the ! I have no idea what to do from here or how to get to the bootstrap application.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page

droid 2 boot from white triangle verizon android