I have a rooted D2 with 2.2.20 and want 2.3.30.. What do I do?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by brownie13, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. brownie13

    brownie13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    First android phone.. new to ota updates..

    rooted D2 with the basics
    2.2.20
    I have clockworkmod if that's relevant

    I just want to get 2.3.20.. What do I do?

    I've read that I can just do the official update, and then reroot using the one click 2.3.20 method. Do I need to defrost all my applications and make backups of all of them? Do I need to do anything more before I do the ota update?
     
  2. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,181
    Likes Received:
    5,244
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,827
  3. brownie13

    brownie13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do I use Odexed or Deodexed?
     
  4. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,181
    Likes Received:
    5,244
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,827
    Odexed is the official version. Deodexed is what devs use to make themes. It really does not matter.
     
  5. brownie13

    brownie13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome, thank you. One last question: Will I maintain root after this?
     
  6. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,181
    Likes Received:
    5,244
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,827
    yes it is rooted for you. now after installing wipe data and cache for a clean install.
     
  7. brownie13

    brownie13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so AFTER I do the update I just go into the JRummy overclock app and just do the clear all data & sd card cache?

    shouldn't I make a backup of my apps if I'm clearing all my data..?
     
  8. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,181
    Likes Received:
    5,244
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,827
    no you are going to wipe data and cache in recovery mode.
     
  9. brownie13

    brownie13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so AFTER I do the update I go to JRummy's overclock app and clear all data & sd cache?

    shouldn't I make a backup of my apps if I'm deleting all of my data..?
     
  10. brownie13

    brownie13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you!
     
  11. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,181
    Likes Received:
    5,244
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,827
    i would back up apps and data with titanium backup.
     
  12. brownie13

    brownie13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    clearing data says factory reset.. doesn't that delete me applications and everything? lol
     
Search tags for this page

superoneclick 2.3.30