1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

I have a problem with vibration

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Support' started by delzell, Dec 9, 2012.

  1. delzell
    Offline

    delzell New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Under your house
    Hi
    I have a Droid RAZR from Verizon on the ICS update. There is a problem with the vibrate on my phone. If I am typing, the vibrate of the keys will go on like normal but then will randomly stop, and other instances such as receiving text messages on vibrate mode doesn't notify me because the vibrate won't work, etc.. I searched this already and got nothing. Someone said that shaking the phone after this happens will turn it back on, and it does but only for a short while. Is there any permanent fix or will I have to deal with this?
    Also, this happens on stock and I tried custom ROMs and it still does this. Even on the AOKP Jellybean rom. (currently on AOKP ICS "Full-throttle" ROM)
  2. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Since you're running a custom rom it's hard to say if it is a hardware problem or a software problem. The problem with a lot of ROMs is there is always something that doesn't function exactly/or at all like the stock rom. I'm not saying that is the case with the ROM you're running but it could be the source of your problem...it would not be unusual.
  3. delzell
    Offline

    delzell New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Under your house
    ah ok. though it does this with stock ICS, MIUI, CM10, AOKP JB, and AOKP ICS. So I think it's either ICS and above doesn't function correctly with the RAZR or it's simply a hardware problem
  4. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    ah, I guess the real question is does it do it when running stock...no custom ROM?
  5. delzell
    Offline

    delzell New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Under your house
    Yes, it does. I know someone with a Droid RAZR MAXX and it doesnt have this problem, but I read it also had the same problem. So yes, on stock it does this. But I don't think this happened when Droid Razr had Gingerbread.
  6. jpcalhoun
    Offline

    jpcalhoun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    PA
    Well, I've never experienced that problem, but then again I don't use vibrate very often for anything except silent mode. Wish I could point you in the direction of a "fix" but I don't know of one.
  7. delzell
    Offline

    delzell New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Under your house
    ok well thanks anyways :) I'm going back to stock now to see if anything somehow happened
  8. ddfuji
    Offline

    ddfuji New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    I have the exact same issue. I'm on the maxx. It started for me randomly. I noticed it one day. Talked to a Verizon rep at the store and hers was doing the same thing. Even on JB its doing it. She said she would replace the phone but I had a cracked screen so she couldn't do anything.
  9. The Stig 04
    Offline

    The Stig 04 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    This came up a couple months ago. Some one said it was the lubrication on the vibrator going bad and once re-lubed that the problems stopped. Of course this means tearing a part the phone to do this.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  10. ddfuji
    Offline

    ddfuji New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    Well if that's all it is I'm gonna try it. The vibrator is really easy to access if I remember correctly. Right underneath the back cover.
  11. delzell
    Offline

    delzell New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Under your house
    ahh thanks you guys. I'm sending it in to get a new one. It must be a hardware error. Ironically I noticed it happening after downloading a third-party keyboard app
  12. morsecall
    Offline

    morsecall New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
Search tags for this page
droid maxx wont vibrate
,
droid razr doesn't vibrate
,

droid razr m vibrate not working

,
droid razr maxx hd vibrate not working
,
droid razr maxx not vibrating
,

droid razr maxx vibrate not working

,

droid razr maxx vibrate problem

,

droid razr vibrate not working

,

droid razr vibration problems

,

droid razr wont vibrate

,
how to fix a phone that wont vibrate
,
razr m does not vibrate
,

razr m wont vibrate

,
vibrate doesn't work on droid razr m
,
vibrate not working on razr maxx