I got my phone rooted. No what?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by aleio16, Dec 2, 2010.

  1. aleio16

    aleio16 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, just re-rooted my phone, and I'm using barnacle, cachemate, and overclock. But what else is there? I feel like I'm not using my phone to it's full potential, and it's a sad feeling. lol.

    Any help amigos?
     
  2. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Try a custom ROM. There's so much more you can do on, say, Sapphire versus stock. The possibilities in Liquid Frozen Yogurt might send chills up your spine -- or perhaps something that's Simply Stunning will blow your mind! CyanogenMod might just cure your blue-green envy... Or perhaps you're looking for a more Ultimate Droid experience. ;)
     
  3. UltraDroid

    UltraDroid DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,486
    Likes Received:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    Ratings:
    +157
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Find some cool apps that you can't use unless you're rooted. Root Explorer, Cache-Mate, Titanium Backup (paid). I'm looking for more myself.
     
  5. aleio16

    aleio16 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool, thanks guys. I'll check out these "custom roms" you speak of.

    And hookbill, I said I was using cachemate. lol. ty anyways though.
     
  6. djakrse

    djakrse Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm with you on that one... Dual Mount SD widget is one of my favs. It allows your SD card to be mounted on phone and pc at the same time. For example, your music doesn't have to stop when you want to transfer new files to sdcard.

    Obviously, the biggest change is with ROMs, especially themed ones. You're already overclocked. The fun is getting your phone to look and act how you want it to. There's always something else, boot logo, boot animation, apps2sd (get faster SD first), compcache, custom menu options, custom system font, hacked apks from other phones, etc.

    jump in
     
  7. Se7enLC

    Se7enLC Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, there's no need for a faster SD, depending on how you set it up. I'm using a class 2 and keeping the cache files in data and the apk files on /sd-ext. Once the first long boot occurs and all the cache files are generated, the apps run mostly off /data. There's no noticable difference in speed! I can't speak for what happens if you decide to put the dalvik-cache files on the SD, too, though...
     
  8. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    The Droid is limited in the speed of the SD card it can handle. The one that ships is as fast as it gets.
     
  9. djakrse

    djakrse Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +12
    Say what? I've never heard that. (not that I've researched it at all in months, waiting for prices to come down.) Why is it common on forums (at least, pre-froyo) to see discussions about name brand class 6 SD cards being preferred for running apps from SD? I've seen it in ppl's sigs as well. It's one of the last things I desire to enhance my droid experience.
     
  10. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Because people don't pay attention to the technology. It's amazing what the placebo effect can do for people. :)

    Of course, I could be wrong, but a couple months ago when I was looking into things I saw a LOT of posts saying higher class cards weren't giving any boost in speed and referencing either class 2 or 4 as the top-end. The X and 2 take higher-speed cards, IIRC?
     
  11. djakrse

    djakrse Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +12
    Well that makes sense. Just for clarification, it's not that the D1 will not accept class 6, just that the hardware cannot take advantage of the class 6 cards, such that they perform about the same as a class 4? Real world performance, no? Interesting.

    It's understandable, the hype though, given that many people here are very capable and ingenious. The real performance gains simply were not benchmarked, and it's easy to make assumptions. I'm glad I didn't shell out the $$ right away.
     
  12. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Me too. And exactly that. It's like plugging a USB 2.0 device into a 1.1 port. It'll work, it just can't take advantage of the hardware's full potential.
     
  13. aleio16

    aleio16 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow. I just learned a lot. Haha, I never knew that the speed of your phone was determined by your SD card.
     
  14. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    It's not. :) Just the speed with which data can be transferred to and from the SD card. This means that if you have the capability, a faster SD card will transfer data to/from your PC faster (USB Mass Storage mode), and to the OS faster if you're running an app from the SD card.