1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

I got a droid 2 for a droid 1 warranty replacement

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by garywkamp, Aug 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. garywkamp
    Offline

    garywkamp New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got a droid 2 today cause i was having several issues with my droid 1. I just wanted to let all my fellow droidsters know.

    Attached Files:

  2. Panamakevin
    Offline

    Panamakevin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Awesome! I hope my replacement is a droid2, it just arrived today, but they told me it was a droid1, did they tell you that you would be getting a droid2? Did you call it in or take it to a store?
  3. garywkamp
    Offline

    garywkamp New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I called in the issue and the agent on the phone said very rudely that all they had was droid 1 for warranty replacements. When i got my phone via FedEx today i was so happy to see a new droid 2.
  4. garywkamp
    Offline

    garywkamp New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Let me know if you get a droid 2 i wanna see if this is a company wide thing.
  5. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What a sweet surprise, that is everyone's warranty dreams come true :D
  6. noisufnoc
    Offline

    noisufnoc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We got a Droid 2 replacement too

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  7. kook
    Offline

    kook Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice....Good to hear Verizon is taking care of their customers.
  8. noisufnoc
    Offline

    noisufnoc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    here's the million dollar question. this is a complete new phone in the box, with memory card, battery and charger...should I return everything or just the broken Droid 1?
  9. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,477
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They did you right, return the favor and send it all back, just to be safe
  10. neilrl79
    Offline

    neilrl79 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cecil County MD
    Keep your SD card at least. They don't need it, and unless you completely wipe the whole thing there could be personal info on it.

    Sent from my 928/FRG22D Droid, waiting patiently for UD8
  11. Polymira
    Offline

    Polymira New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chico, Ca
    Same thing here, only no one mentioned I'd be getting a Droid 2, nor did I get anything in the package mentioning it. Just a box with a fedex return label, and a Droid 2 in it's oddly shaped tiny box.


    And boy is this new keyboard tough to get used to...
  12. spiceditup
    Offline

    spiceditup New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    hey garywkamp,

    What was your reason you told Verizon to get them to replace your D1? Sofware issue? Meet be worth a try for me.

    Thanks.
  13. garywkamp
    Offline

    garywkamp New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had a issue since i got 2.2 where performance was horrible even after a factory reset. I paid alot of money for my droid and poor performance is not acceptable.
  14. spiceditup
    Offline

    spiceditup New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    thanks, i'll give VZ a call today.

    update: just called in and they are sending me a replacement, so i'll keep you guys posted to see if it's the droid 2 or original.
  15. Hockey
    Offline

    Hockey New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just got back from the local Verizon store. My battery has gone downhill. Fast. I turned everything off before going to bed this afternoon and woke up a few hours later, 5% left on the battery. Everything was turned off including network. Been having some post 2.2 issues too.

    Went to Verizon, talked with them, getting new phone. The guy told me it will be a Droid 2 since they are having "stock" issues and trying to get people one the D2 phone.

    Should have it by Thursday. Better be the D2 :D

    Will keep updated
  16. Dragoro
    Offline

    Dragoro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Yeah, got droid 2 today as a warranty replacement as well. Verizon tech in store promised it would be a droid 1 but oh well, as long as I can get it set up the same as I had the droid 1 im fine with it.
  17. justin090435
    Offline

    justin090435 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    i got the d2 today as well. they sent me a letter stating that do to a shortage of d1 refurbs, they ungraded my to the d2..... brand new in box. and that was under warrenty, not insurance. its funny cuz th eguy on the phone said i had a better chance of getting the di or dx and not a d2..... i love it so far, this motoblurish ui is excellent, its very htc sense like
  18. jmonte345
    Offline

    jmonte345 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same for me. I took my D1 in last Wednesday because my headphone jack quit working. The paperwork they gave me at the store said I was getting a D1 but to my surprise there was a brand spankin new D2 in the box.


    I was thinking the same thing. The paperwork that came in the box said to just return the phone but I decided I'm going to return everything that originally came with the D1 just to be safe. Well... almost everything I swapped memory cards between the phones.
  19. kbclipse
    Offline

    kbclipse New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the same deal. Question on this though, in swapping SD cards is there anything from the D1 on the SD card that could cause issues on my D2? I really rather have my 16GB than the 8GB the D2 comes with, but didn't want there to be any software problems/conflicts in changing them.
  20. Polymira
    Offline

    Polymira New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chico, Ca
    You can swap without issue.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page

alltel beside kmart

,

fed ex 2lb package wit s4 inside

,
how do i get a droid razr speaker to stay in if it is smashe
,
replacing droid screen
,

warranty replacement

,
what is the waranty for a droid x 2