I gave up on GS III

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy S3' started by Lemonwei, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. Lemonwei
    Offline

    Lemonwei New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got one of the GSIII as soon as it can out and began having connection problems. Many calls to US Cellular did not help. Finally they admitted that I had one of the phones with a manufacturing defect and they replaced it. But I still have problems: dropped calls, inconsistent reception, not receiving calls, etc. So after almost 4 months I have given up. I found out from tech support that in order to have a thinner phone and larger screen Samsung somehow cut back on the antenna. US Celluar is replacing it with a Motorola, which I understand has a better antenna.
  2. gottcha
    Offline

    gottcha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hope that's not the issue with Verizon S3.
    My gets a decent signal but it shows a no sim error when switching between 3G and 4G which renders the phone useless until it can find the signal or I reboot it.
  3. music life
    Offline

    music life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Va beach
    lmao US cellular.... Nuff said.
  4. p1ngputts
    Offline

    p1ngputts New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I don't think it's a phone problem.
  5. arrndroid
    Offline

    arrndroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gottcha: there is an OTA that fixes that


    Yeah they aren't the best antennas/ radios, but it is also your carrier.
    Let us know if the Motorola is any better!

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Droid Forums
  6. gottcha
    Offline

    gottcha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have all the updates and replaced the phones and the sim cards............
  7. arrndroid
    Offline

    arrndroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay that is strange

    Sent from my SCH-I535 using Droid Forums
  8. gottcha
    Offline

    gottcha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tell me about it. I have talked with at least 7 different Verizon techs and they tell me it's the sim or the phone and after I explain I replaced them (4 phones and 4 sims) they tell me I have to wait for the big update (JB), to fix it.
    I see you have the Verizon S3 and I take it the update fixed it for you?
  9. droidprincess
    Offline

    droidprincess Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2,680
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    VA Beach, VA
    Yeah defiantly a carrier problem....I have the Verizon s3 and have NEVER had a problem with mine
  10. gottcha
    Offline

    gottcha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have or live in a strong 4G signal area? Can your S3 switch between 4G to 3G. With out a problem?
  11. kewingct
    Offline

    kewingct New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the connection problem at first but after the last update it went away. I'm also in an area where Verizon has excellent coverage.
  12. TechnologicallyChallenged
    Offline

    TechnologicallyChallenged New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Depends on your area. I had a Verizon S3 and dropped calls in my area.
  13. gottcha
    Offline

    gottcha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have great 3G coverage everywhere and a lot of 4G.. My S3 and my wife's can't switch between them without getting the no sim error and waiting for it to reconnect. I downloaded the app "phone info" and toggled off 4G and just use 3G and never have signal issues. If I turn the 4G back on the problems come back.
    I wonder what going on with my phone..
  14. gottcha
    Offline

    gottcha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have only dropped calls when the phone tries to switch from 3G to4G.when its locked on 3G it rock solid!
  15. EricUnLtd
    Offline

    EricUnLtd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Yeah, I hardly ever use 4G. I switched it off using Phone Info. 4G is pretty strong in my area, but I don't see the point in using it. My S3 has been golden since I've gotten it.
  16. RiceCake2000
    Offline

    RiceCake2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm starting to think the JB update is being held back until Verizon can keep it from being rooted. It's like having my old DROID X again.
  17. gottcha
    Offline

    gottcha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just read an article last night about apple starting another law suit because of Jelly Bean. Wounder if that's what's holding it up.
  18. Crankintopwater69
    Offline

    Crankintopwater69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,793
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Greensboro,NC
    Please say it's not true.If it's true,Im gonna be real mad,so mad,Im gonna buy an Iphone just to make Apple mad.:blink:
  19. jackiescivic
    Offline

    jackiescivic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    210
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    I went back to my Razr Maxx last night because I just can't tolerate the lack of signal in my house. I knew going into it that I'd probably have problems, since every other phone and carrier has had issues (except Motorola), but I wanted to give the benefit of the doubt. But I suddenly began getting failed text messages, 0-1 bars of service, and terrible wifi connection. Not to mention I was almost always on 3g instead of LTE (when the Maxx rarely ever switched to 3g). I gave it 3.5 weeks. I'm kind of sad, because it is such a nice phone, and it does have all the bells and whistles. But I just couldn't tolerate the negatives any longer. Now I just need to sell the darn thing.
  20. gottcha
    Offline

    gottcha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's not what I'm experiencing. My gets a great signal it just can't switch between 3G and 4G.
Search tags for this page

gs iii failed emails