I feel stupid, my DroidX is wiped, NO OS.

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by blakebritton, Apr 2, 2011.

  1. blakebritton
    Offline

    blakebritton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cullman, AL
    OK - in the midst of getting my phone into gingerbread, I was going to do a full SBF wipe and all that, well, I updated using koush bootstrap and even installed the GB zip file. What I did afterward was stupid. I decided to wipe the cache right after install without even restarting the phone. What I believed has happened now is that my phone has been left with a blank slate.

    My DX will turn on, but the only thing that appears is the white M logo. It just hangs there. I've tried getting into the bootloader, which isn't a problem, and using RSDlite (tried 4.7, 4.8 and 4.9) to load the .340 SBF, and RSD lite will NOT see my phone. I have no problems with it seeing my phone when it's in PC mode.

    Does anyone have any ideas on how I can get my phone into a bootable state where I can SBF again?
  2. barski
    Offline

    barski New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know how you feel with RSD. That program needs some fine tuning that's for sure. I assume you have used it before with that droid x, so i would just leave the droid x plugged in then start rsd and leave it alone for 5min then come back and search for device. That's what worked best for me. good luck!
  3. timelord
    Offline

    timelord New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There are a ton of threads dealing with sbf procudeures, I suggest you check around. Just sbf and you'll be ok. No need to panic.
  4. blakebritton
    Offline

    blakebritton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cullman, AL
    sure there are procedures, but most deal with being able to put the droidx into PC mode, which I cannot do. I've left RSD on with the DX in bootloader for about a half hour and it will not recognize it .

    Is there perhaps an update.zip file that I can load straight from the stock recovery of the DX?
  5. DXjunkie
    Offline

    DXjunkie New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Idaho
    Don't feel stupid... you're learning from your mistakes ( I hope :).
    Did you find the PC drivers? And did you fond the latest SBF?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums

    Use this link and laod the latest SBF under instructions: #2 http://www.droid-life.com/2011/03/29/how-to-root-gingerbread-on-droid-x/

    You'll know if it's the correct SBF, it will be VRZ_MB810_2.3.34_1FF

    ( I was stuck in red"M" bootloop and then accidentally did a total wipe. Bootloader said Error no system info... etc. Use that SBF in bootloader mode; cross your fingers/ should work. remember battery pull and reconnect before wiping cache and reebooting.)
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2011
  6. izzo540
    Offline

    izzo540 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you opening the bootloader? Make sure when youre connecting it to the computer youre holding the Power button the Camera button and the volume up button. The phone will flash to white writing, that is when youre supposed to connect the phone for RSD lite.. Also if youre having trouble with RSD lite not recognizing the phone, go into your c:/ program files > motorola > RSD Lite and delete all flex logs and .log files, then try again looking for the device. Keep in touch I had the same problem and I'm almost sure i'll be able to help you fix it.
  7. blakebritton
    Offline

    blakebritton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cullman, AL
    I actually used volume down to get into bootloader, not volume up. Oh well. Still no luck though. I also used the current SBF file as well.

    Oh well. Verizon is sending me a replacement. Helps to be under the TEC plan.
  8. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    So many people have screwed up their phones trying new ROMs.
    So many people have sent their phones back to Verizon for a replacement afterward.

    When the phones are received by Verizon and inspected for restock, do they bother to find out that the problem is user error and make you pay for the replacements or do they just clean it up and move on?
  9. blakebritton
    Offline

    blakebritton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cullman, AL
    the only thing wrong with my phone is that there's no OS on it. I accidentally wiped it. The only thing Verizon will do is run a diagnostic on it and reprogram it and send it back out as a refurb.
  10. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. blakebritton
    Offline

    blakebritton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cullman, AL
    you don't have to be an ass about it. People like you are what make other normally sane people go postal.
  12. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You dont understand that rooting, ****ing up your phone, being TOO STUPID TO FIX IT YOURSELF, so you send it back to Verizon on an insurance claim, where they DO find out its been rooted, and then make it all better and send you another is wrong.

    You also didnt read that thread.
  13. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    Understood, but Verizon knows the OS didn't just disappear.
    So basically even though it voids the warranty, they don't appear to care. If that's the case why are they making it so difficult to make changes?

    The question is rhetorical.
  14. blakebritton
    Offline

    blakebritton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cullman, AL
    You can't find out that it's been rooted if there's nothing on the phone to begin with.

    I made a simple error. I've rooted my phone several times, I know the drill, the method and yes, I've even messed it up before, having to use RSD to SBF it back to stock. I KNOW how to do that. Tell me, O WISE ONE, do you know how to fix this problem? If not, are YOU too stupid?

    The problem is that I just got a little too button happy and wiped the cache before my phone had a chance to boot first. Oops. My Bad.
  15. blakebritton
    Offline

    blakebritton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cullman, AL
    I totally understand that too. I'm not arguing against it. I have seen Droid phones though get bricked through an OTA update. Hell, when I was on TMo and had the G1, it happened to me. It's not unheard of, just rare.
  16. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should really read p3droid's post from the link i threw up. Then maybe you'll understand.

    Carriers CAN find out that you're rooted, and log your phone's MEID.

    OS's dont just disappear from a phone.

    All these manufacturers locking down the bootloader, making it harder to root, etc, are because of people voiding the warranty by rooting and then soft bricking, who then try to ABUSE the system and try to make a warranty claim like you said you're going to do.
  17. blakebritton
    Offline

    blakebritton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cullman, AL
    I did read that post. I knew about this before when p3 posted about it. Dude, I'm not dumb. I never even made a warranty claim for it (technically). I actually took the phone to a verizon store and they couldn't even get it to reprogram. They were the ones that decided to send me another one.
  18. pool_shark
    Offline

    pool_shark Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Ohio
    But that's my point. If the modifications void the warranty, and they can tell when they receive it that it was messed up by the user, why bother making modifications difficult? Just make them pay for the replacements.
    That will be enough to deter a large number of people from making modifications.
  19. blakebritton
    Offline

    blakebritton New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cullman, AL
    All that discussion aside, and to the original topic... do you guys know of a way to get the OS back onto the phone?
  20. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    -.- i guess the most obvious question is, can you go into clockwork recovery and do a restore?
Search tags for this page
can tech support install an os on my phone without having my
,
charg droid x battery no os
,

charge droid x without os

,

droid has no os

,

droid x no operating system

,
motorola mb810 accidentially wiped os
,
my droid dna has no os
,

no os on droid

,

no os on droid x2

,
no os on motorola droid
,

phone has no os

,

what os does droid x use