I downloaded a 2.1Kernel instead of a 2.2 kernal and now I cant boot up

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by Phxphenom, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. Phxphenom
    Offline

    Phxphenom New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK Dumb idiot here accidentally downloaded one of P3s 2.1 kernels and now the phone acts as if battery is dead. I downloaded the correct kernel but I can't boot up long enough to mount so I can move the correct file over to my SD card to redo the upload in recovery.....

    Any ideas guys? This is the last thing I need to do to get this phone the way I wanted.

    Thanks guys!

    Here was my origonal problem statement ....Now I realize it was the wrong download :(

    OK so I downloaded BB and got everything working very well. I got flash working, maps going, Chrome to phone and I was ok but wanted to improve my speed. MFLOPS were 12.3 and quadrant score was 1,058.

    I downloaded the P3 1.25 kernal per P3s instructions but when I went to do the system boot, the red low battery light went on....Very strange as I had 60% prior toi the d/l.....then she Fcd. Ok I plugged her into the charger and she again fc'd with a note that said "Process System is not responding"

    Any ideas what to do next? FYI, I had setcpu loaded and she was set to automatically set....

    Thanks,
    Marc
  2. chomorro
    Offline

    chomorro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    With clockwork you can just install the .zip shouldnt need to move it. if you dont have clockwork then my other suggestion is plugging your sd card into a computer and moving it manually :). Dont have computer then........Not sure lol
  3. Smeech
    Offline

    Smeech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, Ca
    Are you trying to avoid wiping and reinstalling?

    I accidently installed a Bekit kernal, and the same thing happened. Red light on, then it would shut off. I had to data wipe and reinstall Bugless Froyo 0.1 again...

    Just installing Froyo kernal over the 2.1 kernal still gave me problems..

    I use SPR btw.
  4. djrausch
    Offline

    djrausch New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you have clockwork(not sure about spr), you can mount your SD card in recovery mode. Just go to partitions, then mount SD card and it will work as usual on your PC. Copy it over, then run that zip.
  5. Phxphenom
    Offline

    Phxphenom New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the zip is on my deskto so how would I get it to my droid in order to use clockwork?

    Looks like I might have to wipe and start over....
  6. Phxphenom
    Offline

    Phxphenom New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you help me out a bit further with the steps:

    a) Boot into recovery
    b) go to partions menu
    c) connect my usb to phone and PC
    d) select mount sd-card?

    I still dont get my SD root folder showing up on my desktop...what am I doing wrong? thanks.



  7. Phxphenom
    Offline

    Phxphenom New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone? Thanks in advance!
  8. natty_lite
    Offline

    natty_lite New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    So you're saying you can't view the contents of your SD card at all when mounting via recovery?
  9. Phxphenom
    Offline

    Phxphenom New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    THanks all...I ended up just wiping and restoring .....sometimes it is easiest to just start over....
  10. natty_lite
    Offline

    natty_lite New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Oh ok, I'm glad you're back up and running. I ran into the same issue when using one of the P3 kernels. Seems only the 1250 kernel wants to play nice with my phone.
  11. knob299
    Offline

    knob299 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just had the same thing happen to me...did a restore back to prev rom. Using UD froyo beta. want to try a better kernel with this rom. going to try p31250 and see what happens
  12. knob299
    Offline

    knob299 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nevermind the p3 1250 doesnt play nice either. Any suggestions?
    -knob
  13. FDFTW!!
    Offline

    FDFTW!! New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So Cal
    Chevy's LV 1.1ghz worked nicely for my phone, when all the others wouldn't.
  14. knob299
    Offline

    knob299 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    whenever i use rom manager to download any chevy kernel it fives me a download error and corrupt?
  15. zxcv12
    Offline

    zxcv12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did the same thing except I was able to boot with the usb cable plugged in. Too late now... But if anyone else does this, make sure you have your phone plugged in, get the right kernels, boot into recovery, and then install.
  16. mkraffert
    Offline

    mkraffert New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Me too! It's a drag HAVING to run a racing kernel. :yeahbaby01:
  17. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For future reference - make a backup before installing anything, especially a kernel! With a backup, "oops my kernel doesn't work" is no big deal - but without one, you could lose a lot of hours of time and possibly your data trying to get your phone working again.
  18. blumpkinblake
    Offline

    blumpkinblake New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Spanaway, WA
    One thing I never see mentioned that I think lots of people forget would be to take the microsd out and put it in a microsd to SD reader
  19. Anomander
    Offline

    Anomander New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    That was my thought too. I have a Microsd adapter and so far have not needed it yet.