I dont understand why wifi is slower then 3g

Discussion in 'Project Elite' started by chomorro, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. chomorro
    Offline

    chomorro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use 3g and my moto droid one browser is speedy. I switch to wifi and the browser is super slow and hangs a lot on loading pages for some reason. I have to turn off wifi then turn it back on sometimes to get a page to finish loading. Same page on 3g loads no problem.

    Anyone else experience this?
     
  2. Stelv
    Offline

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yes I have roadrunner lite and it is slower than my 3g. I turned wifi completely off on my phone.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have Road Runner turbo and it is definitely faster. Much faster then 3G.
     
  4. h4ckd
    Offline

    h4ckd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    716, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    it depends, and here are 3 reasons that most likely are why:
    1) the connection you are picking up wifi off of is either being bottlenecked by the grid you are on (i.e - you live in an apartment building/college dorms/development style neighborhood) or your router is only transmitting either a "g" or a slow "b" signal type
    2) your 3g's network is relatively traffic free durring the times you are noticing your 3g is faster than wifi, and vice-versa
    3) a wizard is using your connection all up for his alchemy expierements
     
  5. chomorro
    Offline

    chomorro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol must be the wizard.

    I used the app wifi analyzer and I set my wifi on the channels that aren't used by anyone in the neighborhood so its not that. I'm using a link sys e3000 wireless n router.
     
  6. billyidle
    Offline

    billyidle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Who and what is your ISP your wifi is hooked up to?
     
  7. chomorro
    Offline

    chomorro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cox Cable high speed internet with boost LOL.
     
  8. billyidle
    Offline

    billyidle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Flint, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you try another WiFi router to see if it's the router slowing you down?
     
Search tags for this page

nexus 7 hangs roadrunner service