I could sure use your help guys! (and gals)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by JohnnyDepth, Aug 18, 2010.

  1. JohnnyDepth

    JohnnyDepth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been apprehensive about switching to a different Rom
    but liquid's Tangerine theme is enticing me.

    I thought I'd try some apk fondling and was able to
    try out the inverted google talk, voice and facebook apks...

    I loved them so I wanted to try the phone dialer.
    I (assumed) it would be in the phone.apk, so I signed it,
    copied it over, and the moment I renamed the old phone.apk to
    phone.bak I got FC after FC.

    My network was gone, baseband was unknown and Mobile defense
    said it wasn't working (I have it as a system app)

    I tried doing a backup, so I renamed a Titanium backup
    to update.zip and told Rom Manager to boot from SD card
    pointing to the update.zip.

    My phone wouldn't boot (stuck at M) so I pulled the battery.
    Now my phone boots, but the stock froyo comes up, all apps,
    settings/data/system items are gone, and no baseband again...

    (My initial ROM is in the sig, BBv0.4 FRF84B 2.2froyo)

    So, I tried (after using wifi to download apps from the market)
    to install Root Explorer, to move the baseband file I have on the SD card
    over to the root of the SD card, and used ROM manager to flash
    the baseband.

    Clockwork didn't want to do it.
    So I flashed Sprecovery.

    Upon Reboot it's business as usual.
    I hit install from SD card, point to the update.zip.

    Everything seems to be going as planned.
    I get the recognition and it sees Pete's baseband
    BB....

    The yellow loading bar stops at one 1/3 of the way, but
    the text says install from SD card complete.

    I reboot, and the baseband never flashes.


    Please help.:icon_eek:
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    you can get into SPRecovery, correct? try wiping data/cache at least twice and installing the rom you want fresh.
     
  3. brando56894

    brando56894 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    If all else fails flash the FRG01B SBF via rsdlite, it will fix everything (by wiping the old stuff out completely!)
     
  4. JohnnyDepth

    JohnnyDepth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Will do.
    So is it safe to say my phone is unrecoverable (to the state it was in)
    prior to this debacle?

    OK, I did a Nandroid Back Up and Restore but I didn't wipe
    data and cache option, but I did do that before 2 times
    so there wasn't any data to overwrite since it was wiped already.
     
  5. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31

    well u are in SPRecovery so its very recoverable id say

    if you wiped data & cache twice, now just install the ROM you want and you should be fine. also, you could flash a stock froyo SBF like the post above but this seems easier. its really up to you, though
     
  6. brando56894

    brando56894 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    After the backup/restore does it work? And by "recoverable to the state it was in" do you mean working or working with everything installed the way it was before it screwed up? Youre phone is definitely recoverable (at least about 95% of the time they are), but you may have to reinstall everything.
     
  7. JohnnyDepth

    JohnnyDepth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Yes, I'm up and running but I didn't make a backup
    (saving all of the recent knowledge and mods) so
    I'm basically back to square one.

    Yes, I mean the way my phone was working prior to the silly
    edit I made to the phone.apk. Oh, well.

    Sometimes these are the kind of setbacks I need to happen.
    Now I feel confident in flashing other ROMs.:)
     
  8. brando56894

    brando56894 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad you have it back up :) The cost of knowledge is massively screwing stuff up at times, you live you learn right? I cant tell you how many times while messing with my PC that Ive deleted stuff that was either impossible to get back or extremely time consuming (500 GB of movies and TV shows, all legal of course ;-) ). Let this be a lesson in backups and how to troubleshoot problems with your phone.

    The first few times I screwed up my droid and it wouldnt boot really scared me because I had just killed my xbox 360 by modding it but now that Ive done so many things with my phone I know that I can almost always recover it.
     
  9. JohnnyDepth

    JohnnyDepth Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Right on.

    What I'd like to do is get a touch of Tangerine (by Liquid)
    mixed in with what I had which was just about stock.

    The dialer
    All widgets from Liquid are the best I've ever seen!
    I dig the Orange but not for everything.


    Is it possible to use different icons for the notification bar?
    I don't necessarily need orange icons from within the app drawer but don't
    know how to change them.