I could of sworn flashing an .sbf cleared the phone

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by bitter, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. bitter

    bitter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Am I wrong in thinking this? Because I just did it and I still have all of my apps (minus the theme and root).
     
  2. bitter

    bitter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, I did have to re-active it, but that was the only thing I had to do.
     
  3. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    What sbf did u flash?

    Sent using the DF app, from a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away
     
  4. bitter

    bitter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The standard 2.2 SBF I thought, I've used it before and it worked fine. This is the file name:

    VRZ_MB810_2.3.15_1FF_01
     
  5. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    huh, strange. If you used RSDLite it should have wiped your phone.
     
  6. bitter

    bitter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought so too. I am not sure what is going on.
     
  7. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you flash this on an DX? I only ask because it says Moto Droid in your profile. Either way I would think it should've wiped your phone clean.
     
  8. bitter

    bitter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I even tried flashing it twice for the hell of it. And yes, I did it on an X. I need to update that.
     
  9. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Wow, don't know what to say. If it's working fine then no big deal....i guess.
     
  10. bitter

    bitter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess I'll know tonight when I try and pull the update and see what happens. I know it isn't rooted, and the ROM I was using before I flashed the .sbf had the bloatware removed. And it's all back now.
     
  11. DropC

    DropC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Thomson, GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same thing happen to me. For some reason it randomly decided not to touch the data folder, I guess. I wouldn't worry too much. You can do a factory reset to finish the job, if you'd like. That's what I did.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  12. bitter

    bitter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I love the fact that I don't have to redo everything. As long as I know this thing is basically back to "factory" defaults, I don't really care.