I can't use any slide functions (lock screen, answering calls, etc.)

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by geckpeppers, Jan 9, 2011.

  1. geckpeppers

    geckpeppers New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone WAS rooted, but my phone has been buggy lately, so I unrooted.

    The phones touchscreen works fine some times, but I CANT do any sliding functions, and sometimes parts of the screen dont work at all. I can't answer any calls and have to use the pattern lockscreen, and only the first 6 dots work. It is all random, but I still believe it is a software problem, because all parts of the screen work at certain times.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    I have one. You tell me what phone you have an I try to help. Sound like a good idea? :)

    It does sound like a bad digitizer, however. You might be well-suited to taking the phone back to a Verizon store after flashing a full stock SBF onto it. Warranty is 1 year, after all.
     
  3. geckpeppers

    geckpeppers New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is the original Droid; I got it the day after release, so warranty is up.

    Also, I already flashed the stock sbf...no dice!
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    If you were still rooted you could use the SU commands and clear cache. I'm not positive but I believe there are some cache cleaners in the market that work on stock devices.

    Mike
     
  5. geckpeppers

    geckpeppers New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried wiping the cache with Quick App Clean Cache, still no dice.
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Sadly, the apps do not clear as much as the SU commands. Sorry, I do not have any other suggestions. Perhaps, FBM wil be able to assist.

    Mike
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Did you pony up for insurance? With a bad digitizer the only real fix is replacement and $90 co-pay is about the same price as you'll pay just for the digitizer.
     
  8. geckpeppers

    geckpeppers New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    bleh...I have no insurance. This is ****! lol
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    While I understand the frustration, you might want to clean that out before a Mod sees it and issues an infraction. :)

    Here, have Jim Carey doing a parody of "Informer" by Snow.

    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Icb_tRTnA4g]YouTube - Imposter (Snow) - Jim Carrey[/ame]
     
  10. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    On a more serious note, however, your best bet might be to price out a replacement phone on eBay and see about selling yours as parts. The net cost to you might be somewhere around $125-$150.
     
  11. geckpeppers

    geckpeppers New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    efff, I might hold off. I have a trade in April...how much could I get a Droid 2 with trade in discount? lol. Grr...this sucks.
     
Search tags for this page

android can't slide to answer

,
android lock screen can't answer phone
,
android screen cant slide lock
,
can't answer call from iphone lockscreen
,
cant slide to answer android
,
i cant slide my screen lock
,
incaming call slid locks
,
my iphone cant slide to reply
,
slid lock answer
,
when the screen is lock i can't answer