I can't. get back to "stock"... help, please!

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Nicely Toasted, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. Nicely Toasted
    Offline

    Nicely Toasted Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed scholesmod updater and ran my phone "rooted" for a few days. Now I want to revert back to fully stock and try the new 2.1 when they release it. But, for some reason, no matter what I do, the scholesmod stuff is still on the phone. And after I do the "activate phone" thing, I try to call #211 again to update my coverage area, and it says there is a problem and to contact customer sarvice.. also, in my app's, the "supervisor permissions" is still there..
    When I do the wipe data/ factory reset, I also wipe the SD card, but I get the same results.. can anyone help me??
    Thanks in advance.
  2. roberj13
    Offline

    roberj13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is *228 to update coverage. Or more specifically, roaming capabilities.
  3. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah and the little ninja app is called superuser permissions, not supervisor lol......are you sure you selected "flash 2.0.1 stock (no root)" whenever you flashed the ROM
  4. Nicely Toasted
    Offline

    Nicely Toasted Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    O.K. #228..but I still get the same message.. I need to talk to customer service..
    I have followed the instructions to revert my phone back to "factory stock" but I still get the same message.
  5. Nicely Toasted
    Offline

    Nicely Toasted Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I am choosing 2.01 stock (no root), I let it do its thing, but I always get the same results.. I have done this all at least 5 times, wiping the SD card each time, but the same results... kinda getting mad at this point.. I want this OFF MY PHONE!
  6. roberj13
    Offline

    roberj13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    *228 not #228.


    Ok so to clarify. You did the Smupdater, back to 2.0.1 option, did a full wipe + SD card and it is still showing superuser permissions?

    Is it showing any other non factory apps at all?
  7. sherrywilson44
    Offline

    sherrywilson44 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0

    I'm confused...why are you trying to activate it..? It's already activated.
  8. Nicely Toasted
    Offline

    Nicely Toasted Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still has superuser permissions but no other "non stock" apps
  9. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why are you wiping the sdcard too? I can assure you that the sdcard has NOTHING to do with any of this.......and the only thing thats gonna show up on your phone is music, pics, and maybe some stuff that some apps have saved on there but nothing having to do with the SMUpdater and flashing the ROM...you don't have to wipe your sdcard for anything
  10. sherrywilson44
    Offline

    sherrywilson44 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went back to stock too, and I still have the superuser icon on my desktop..I wonder if it's because we purchased it it will remain there in case we want to reinstall? Even though it's there I'm positive I'm totally back to stock. Did you check under Build number in 'about phone' setting? ESD56 is what mine says. I also called the *228 and got the same message as you..I really think I got that message because I'm already activated though. Not sure if I'm helping or hurting.
  11. Nicely Toasted
    Offline

    Nicely Toasted Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Then why are ALL the scholesmod downloads still on the SD card?? Its NOT re-downloading them..
  12. STIDRIVER
    Offline

    STIDRIVER Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm still rooted with Sholes mod... *228 option 2 worked fine for me. If it works while your rooted, I don't see why it wouldn't work if you went back to stock.
  13. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +0
    Because the app probably keeps them there....it doesn't effect anything if their on there....just because its on the sdcard doesn't mean its installed on the actual phone...
  14. lmapp
    Offline

    lmapp Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    MS
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. CDB
    Offline

    CDB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Severn, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm guessing it's a function of the ROM installation and choosing "Wipe Data". Then after the ROM is done installing, the Activate Phone window comes up. The odd thing is that the phone is still 'activated' as the normal automated call that would be made to do the activation is skipped when you press the button "Activate Phone". I always choose "Wipe Data" and this always happens to me.

    After going back to stock, the Superuser Permissions app should be gone, though the SM Updater app may remain. The SUPermissions app should only show up if you're rooted.