I can't find 2.2 Froyo root

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by aleio16, Nov 30, 2010.

  1. aleio16

    aleio16 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, I'm sorry I'm a complete noob, but I have no idea where the Froyo 2.2 root is. I use to have my Droid 1 rooted before the 2.2 update, and I went through a long process (I wasn't too sure what I was doing) to unroot and unblock the OTA.

    But now I want to root my phone again so I can run Barnacle again, but I'm kinda lost. Any help would be nice.

    Btw, I found on some site that there is/was an app to one touch root the phone, but it required a different build than I have. I currently have FRG22D, if that helps at all.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Welcome to the forum!

    One click root apps are very unreliable, use link 3 in my sig to root, read all instructions very carefully.

    Have Fun!
     
  3. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,640
    Likes Received:
    1,720
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,863
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    This is the process I used and it works.
     
  4. aleio16

    aleio16 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, I'm an idiot. I put my phone into Bootloader, but RSDlite isn't finding it. I tried all the things it said and read the frequent questions, with no help. Ughhh, I'm so sorry.
     
  5. kevinlaw

    kevinlaw New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or

    You could just use z4Root (in marketplace). This seems to work fine at both rooting and unrooting. One click option that works with the D2.
     
  6. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    It was removed from the market so you'll need to go to the xda site to download it.



    DroidForums junkie!
     
  7. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,640
    Likes Received:
    1,720
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,863
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    It took a while for rsd to find my phone. Make sure you have the right drivers and you restarted your pc to load the new drivers. Also in rsd there is a config button. I have my DeviceID Option set as first-come-first-serve. Setting up my pc took more time than it did to root my phone.
     
  8. motormadness

    motormadness New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Z4 Root is no longer on the market.
     
  9. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Its back now



    DroidForums junkie!
     
  10. aleio16

    aleio16 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anndd it's gone again :(
     
  11. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. aleio16

    aleio16 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you all so ****ing much. I really appreciate it. I thought I already had the drivers. Turned out I didn't. Hehe. Whoops.

    Thanks. Now I can play WoW wherever the **** I have cell reception. Hahaha. Thanks again guys. Tallica and CJM
     
Search tags for this page

why cant i root froyo 2.2