1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

I can't convince my Droid to talk to my PC

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by lovelyhistorymom, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. lovelyhistorymom
    Offline

    lovelyhistorymom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This could well be an issue with my PC and I'm not denying that, but I doubt it. I have it plugged in with the data cable and my PC sees the device (although it calls it Removable Device:F.) But it won't let me transfer files to or from. My PC keeps telling me I need to insert a disk into RD:F. And there is one. My Droid understands that (I have a 16G Micro-SD). Available memory according to the phone is in the right range...

    What am I doing wrong? I'm sure it's user error...but still...I hate when technology outsmarts me....which happens way more often then I should probably admit to.
  2. Erron
    Offline

    Erron Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just to clarify, you are telling the droid to usb mount, yes?
  3. lovelyhistorymom
    Offline

    lovelyhistorymom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, of course.....



    No. No, I don't know what that is. This is precisely hour 13 of owning it...so I haven't the foggiest idea what that means. Forgive my ignorance...could you explain?
  4. Erron
    Offline

    Erron Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, sorry. Welcome to droid ownership!

    On the top bar, pull down on it so the status window is open. Youll see something saying "connected to usb" or close to that. Tap on that, telling it to connect to usb. Then it should show up on your computer.
  5. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Pull down the notification bar, click on "usb connected" and then click "mount".

    Erron beat me! Dangit.
  6. Erron
    Offline

    Erron Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your description was better than mine anyway. I forgot the exact words. I am ont he desire rom so they have an app that mounts. It's a bit diff.
  7. lovelyhistorymom
    Offline

    lovelyhistorymom New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh the yay! Erron, Dylan, thanks much.

    Lovelyhistorymom - 1 point ~ Droid - yeah, still kicking my arse...but I'll get there.

    You guys rock!:icon_ banana:
  8. B1-66er
    Offline

    B1-66er New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't get it to work at all on mine, when I mount the card, it automatically unmounts a second later. I've just been taking the card out and putting in my PC whenever I wanna transfer stuff, its a huge pain, haha.
  9. Erron
    Offline

    Erron Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hm, thats def a driver prob. Youd prolly have to do a factory wipe to fix it. Or it could be an app. who knows.

    I cant mount at all when my phone is on. If I wanna connect I have to go into recovery and mount it there. But this is my own fault.
  10. dylanthecat
    Offline

    dylanthecat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I would try a battery pull, and then maybe reload the drivers on the PC. Did you try it on a different PC?
  11. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,057
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Just a note on this. Before you unplug your Droid you need to unmount it, same process as mounting. If you don't could cause you problems.
Search tags for this page

android can't talk with usb pc

,

cant talk to my android phone on my pc\

,

how can i talk to my android phone from my pc

,

rythem andrioid won't talk to my computer